Things of the Heart on Heart Day (Original Story)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Little kids, little cars, and little love...

Imgur

It was the 6th grade at St. Mary's school. I didn't have a job, so I was given a bag of candy hearts to take to school. The idea was to give them to my classmates in order to celebrate Valentines Day.

my kids
my kids

What a concept. Little kids having to decide which other kid would get which message and how embarrassing the wrong choice would be. Life changing, for an 12-year-old boy.

At twelve, you run through life! Only stopping when told to stop or when you see something super important like a "mini" that is to say, a Smart Car. They are just so cool, that you have to touch it, look under it, imagine how it sounds, and imagine if it would fit straight in where parallel parking only is allowed. These are my boys, and they live in the moment. I join in and stop for their important things.

Getting back to the candy dilemma. I arrive at my school and things are a bit quieter than usual. I know I was nervous. I would have to talk to some of the girls who usually stuck together in groups, talking and giggling. We men usually played ball or raced. Today was different. We stopped and thought about what would happen if we handed a "Kiss Me candy heart to the girl that was prettiest. Paralyzing.

It would not be easy, or let's say, it would be impossible to hand a girl something that says *Love Me* or *Marry Me* because I would just die. Take a pint-size kid, and put him in an adult world of promises - all printed on little tiny hearts. The first thing I did was separate them in to piles and I can still remember my heart drop, or throb, or sink every time I even thought about putting hearts in to the girl pile.

Boys

BEST DAY - YOU SHINE - SMILE

Girls

MARRY ME - REAL LOVE - I LOVE YOU - ADORE ME - LOVE ME

Imgur

No, this is not working. Why didn't I get mom to call in sick for me.

Imgur

The Solution


Girls Eat

MARRY ME - REAL LOVE - I LOVE YOU - ADORE ME - LOVE ME

That's the ticket

Imgur

Happy Valentines Day

A personal story of my own memories when I first started to notice girls. Candy heart sources: ( 1, 2 )

Sort:  

Thank you for posting this lovely story @sponge-bob.

Of course, the photograph will bring many memories to most.
Lovely picture.

Cheers to all.

I read that and is very beautiful amd interesting post!!
I like your job..Thank you for sharing dear @sponge-bob !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78