You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How The Tortoise Cracked Its Back - An African Fable (Original Rendition)

in #story7 years ago

hey, I loved that.

Is the turtle also a figure of importance in the traditional story of the land and the creation?

In other tales or other contexts? I mean.

It is in many places, and it is not often that one hears a tale where the tortoise is portrayed in a 'negative' light.

As here, being deceitful and greedy.

Just out of my own interest.

look forward to your answer

Sort:  

The "tortoise" features in a lot of such fables and he's consistently characterised by cunning misdemeanor and actions. I guess it's a cultural thing. Interesting to know that somewhere else the tortoise is painted in another light.

...to add, the tortoise is a character you don't hate. It's just smart and some people want to be the tortoise. Matter of factly, the tortoise earns more laughter than he does outright condemnation. He's just the bad kid in the fold.

ok, that's the sort of thing I can more easily imagine.

(I didn't think I had to refresh the page to see your comments, but I did)

I think that's more like the tortoise that I imagine and know. He is physically slow but mentally fast.

But not deceitful either though.

For a classic example, think of the tortoise and the hare of traditional European folklore.
The noble tortoise knows to just keep plugging away and not slack off, and wins the race.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54