Life at Vet school

in #story7 years ago (edited)

15423499_1260029177353510_2060992303_n.jpg
A few months before graduating high school, I was sure that I’ll pursue Chemical Engineering or Chemistry as my undergraduate course. Found it really easy to understand my general chemistry subject in high school and it was somewhat fun for me. Back then, I didn’t have a particular career in mind, I just based my decisions on which option will be the easiest for me. My choices for colleges are quite limited; I’ll take the entrance exam for the University of the Philippines and if I fail, I’ll settle with Bicol University. As expected, I failed the entrance exam for UP (I wasn’t prepared enough to take the exam) so I started preparing my documents for BU. The most unlikely thing happened, my average for the entrance exam in UP was still valid for reconsideration. In short, I still had a chance to enter a prominent and influential university in the country!

I got excited when I heard the news first from my mother, but the excitement didn’t last for long. I was not allowed for reconsideration for Chemical Engineering nor Chemistry but I was allowed for Veterinary Medicine. Without even thinking, I dismissed the idea of getting reconsidered because I figured that Vet school is very difficult, much more than Human Medicine. Somehow, my mother thought that since I was the one feeding and bathing our dogs all the time, it’s logical that I love animals and Veterinary Medicine was the right choice for me. More so, she said that I can shift to any course any time I want; My priority that time was to enter UP so I had no choice but to try. My application for reconsideration actually went well, but the deal was that I cannot shift to any course at all. Since the opportunity was there already, I just accepted the fact that I must pursue Veterinary Medicine.
965064_408355095930566_482488092_o.jpg

My life as a college was pretty easy at the start and then I met my first failing grade, Organic Chemistry. I never expected the Chemistry in college would be very complicated, it was actually a good thing that I didn’t continue pursuing Chemistry as a course. A few failed subjects later, I realized that I delayed my graduation for a year, so that’s 7 years of college for me. I knew that I cannot finish my course by myself so I was introduced to an academic based group, the Venerable Knight Veterinarians Fraternity. I eventually joined the group and became a very active member. Through them, I improved academically and I got hold of my college life.
14711629_1029597690472967_2662836765861533762_o.jpg

Here now, in present time, I’m still a struggling student with weekly exams and other school work. The work and pressure is very exhausting but I know I’ll work through it. As to my fellow students, we can do it! Cheers, Steemit community!
16710375_1323734807649613_590738277_o.jpg

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68398.12
ETH 3837.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65