You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'An Unfamiliar Road' - Steemit Story Chain #5 Where You're the Writer and 100 Whaleshares for the Winner

in #story7 years ago (edited)

1
KRACCK! I was startled back into the moment as the night sky filled with the shimmer of lightning. Just then, it was as if the skies opened up, pouring down sheets of water and I laughed. I screamed at the sky " Is this the best you got?". I could make out headlights in the distance as I just stood there by my car get soaking wet. The lights got closer and the car stopped. The driver rolled down the window . The driver was about my age , with dark hair and had a kind face that reminded me of my brother Billy. " Car trouble he shouted over the rain" . I nodded my head. " Can I give you a ride, there is a gas station about 5 miles up the road from here". I said " Sure, give me a minuite let me just close the hood." I made sure to see that he wasnt paying attention and removed the bundel from inside my hood and hid it in my jacket. It was hot and throbbing and I felt it might burn a hole through my chest. I hated having that thing this close to me. I had that quesy , slimy feeling i get whenever i got close to it.I got in the car and let out a sigh, well at least I was dry. " I don't offen see pretty girls like you out here in the middle of nowhere" Great, he was fliritng with me. This must be some kind of cosmic joke. It just keeps getting better and better. Well at least I was moving, going somewhere. "So I'm Jeff, what your name?" "umm a, my name is Sara. Hey listen Jeff, is there a motel nearby ? I need to dry off and its late. I can look into fixing the car tomorrow." He sat quite for a moment. I looked at him closely and I didnt get any bad vibes from him. I am usually a good judge of character. He was actually kinda cute. " The nearest hotel is about an hour from here. I was just on my way home from work. I live about 15 minutes from here. Your are welcome to stay with me until morning" He said with a sly smile. I looked up at the roof of the car and thought to myself, " Ok this is how this is gonna go. Keep testing me" I turned to Jeff and said " Wow , thats so nice of you. that would be awesome. "It was strange because at that moment the package stopped throbbing and became cool. I felt slightly less queasy. I took this as a good sign.I was probably gonna be safe here for the night. They might find the car but they will have no idea where I disappeared to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38