Make A Wish

in #story8 years ago

Yesterday, I was offered a wish. Bing, a company who shows awesome pictures everyday, on the 31st of December, showed a picture of the outline of a birthday cake on a background of a starry sky with a box which housed the words “Make a Wish.”

Yes, One might think “Make a wish” is a nice thing to publish. The phrase is standard and seemingly innocuous. The image seemed innocuous.

I planned to show the picture here, but I can no longer find it. It was a starry background with a starry outline of a cake with candles in the foreground. If anyone can find it, please add it to the replies. I would like to have a copy of it.

The message, however, was more than I could bear:”Make a wish.”

Make a wish. Right. One wish. Right. Just, make a wish. Riiiiight.

One wish. Just one wish.

Is this wish directed at me as a singular person or as a collective person? Regardless, do I want to make a wish as a selfish singular person, or a person of collective integrity? I get only one wish.

Through these nanoseconds, my heart has already made wishes without the need for words: I wish that never happened; I wish he didn't have to die, I wish she didn't didn't get killed, I wish she didn't get murdered, I wish she trusted me, I wish I would have made better decisions, I wish it never made me decide, I wish the family was together, I wish I had …, etc., etc., etc.

As an adult, I realize no wish is simply granted, a consequence always ensues; there's always a consequence. Although my heart screamed and wanted the wish, ONE would not have been enough, a MILLION would never be enough, and the consequence of only one wish may be too much of a price to pay.

< whisper> Make a wish.

I can't. I won't.

I can't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59184.02
ETH 2530.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46