My friends open carry story in Georgia

in #story6 years ago (edited)

A friend and myself went on a squirrel hunting trip into a wildlife management area, my friend uses a Ruger .22 pistol and I use a Ruger Takedown rifle. It was during squirrel hunting season and hunting with small caliber guns is common. Arriving in the morning we walk all over the place and did not see a single squirrel. We heard some but never saw any let alone being within range. So after about spending five hours walking around we decide to head back home.

My friend was getting hungry and stopped by a BBQ spot to pick up a to go order and I stayed in the car. I watched my friend walk in with the pistol still on his side in its holster. Normally id be worried, being a city boy not many people walk around with guns on them. Though I remember, now im in North Georgia and people handle things quite differently.

He is in the restaurant picking up his order and takes a little while for him to return, and about twenty minutes later he comes back with his food and a big smile on his face.

First thing he tells me is, "Everyone is packing there... Even the Grandma." He gets in the truck and we start heading down the road on the way back to our homes. And he tells me what went down in the BBQ spot. He walked in and right away the employees were asking all about his gun, in a friendly way.

They talk about guns for a few minutes, and there is an older lady in the corner of the restaurant. Probably a family member of an employee or owner of the place, she shows her gun off too. Everyone showed my friend their guns, and he let them check out his and he got to check out theirs.

It turned into a big gun show and tell and shows you how these people are all ready to handle business on their own if bad things go down. Instead of needing the police to defend them, and they all seem quite happy to have it this way.

The gun my friend was carrying is a nice one, so I can see why the all wanted to check it out. It has a nice aluminum body to it and includes an attachment for a silencer, which they noticed right away. And a whole other conversation started about how that went with getting a tax stamp and waiting period and all.

Georgia has very relaxed gun laws, open carry is allowed, Concealed carry is allowed by permit which is very easy to get. And seems our laws are working out quite well, and this story confirms the saying "an armed society is a polite society".

Growing up in a big city, most people would hit the floors or quickly leave if someone walked in with a gun on their side unless they are the police. Though in rural areas it seems people are much more used to people carrying, and to some its even a great ice breaker and can make someone start a conversation with you. I am fan of how Georgia is handling its gun laws, and hope they do not become more restrictive like many States have. And in my opinion, gun free zone is also an easy place for a mass shooter show up and easily kill many people. Though when everyone is packing, its not a place where that kind of deplorable behavior can take place.

#opencarry #concealedcarry #pistols


PlatformURL/Username
Steemhttps://steempeak.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://main.weku.io/@solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
DiscordSolominer#4248
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer

HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

Sort:  

Good to know there is sanity in some states like Georgia, "an armed society is a polite society".

@manorvillemike that saying really does seem to ring true. At least around here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Once again - cool read bro :)
I just freak out if I see nervous police officers with guns - this shit drives me crazy!

@phasewalker thanks, was a really unique experience. Figured others would want to know about it. Yeah there's alot of mentally unstable cops, and they pose a huge risk to the public and even their own colleagues. Sometimes they are kicked out, but usually after the damage is already done.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sad thing tho...
And it's like with the politicans - those who would be best suited would never want to rule :P

@phasewalker very true, seems the political world is so toxic it makes the best suited not interested in being involved.

Posted using Partiko Android

@solominer great story, in my opinion everyone should carry, there would be less mass killings. To bad you did not get any squirrels, I make a good squirrel and gravy. My Dad loved squirrel brains but I could never bring myself to try it.

@myjob agreed, I've had bad luck with hunting squirrels. They seem to know when we are looking for them. Oh sweet! I'd be down to try that, if I shoot a big one I'm planning on eating it too. As long as its healthy and was not feeding on trash.

Posted using Partiko Android

@solominer if you get one just fry it and simmer in gravy for 30 min or so, meat will be so tender even if it is an old one.

My library patrons often open-carry. My former branch manager was an immigrant from a hoplophobic state and never got accustomed to rural firearm attitudes. My new branch manager is very pro-gun. Our district employee policy also quietly dropped the section about employees being forbidden to carry. Open carry would probably get a reprimand but discreetly carried guns cannot be cause for discipline.

@jacobtothe

thanks alot for sharing your experience, I am glad we have the option to carry them in the open or when needed under clothes or concealed in some way. I can see how it can bother some people not accustomed to guns. But if your are raised around them its not such a big deal to most.

Loading...

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.016 which ranks you at #10711 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 74 places in the last three days (old rank 10637).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #117.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80