You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Sure You Want To Keep That?

in #story6 years ago

Yes, and I would want it to match, because the hammer will outlive me too, and passing it down would be fun! The one I have is a little light for heavy anvil work, but I do have other hammers to use there. I have tried to limit the anvil work here in Suburbia, but will add a part of the new building for welding, forging, and casting.

Hope to get into bronze art casting heavily, once there. :)

Sort:  

smithlabs! "Hope to get into bronze art casting heavily, once there." of course, why not? you're into everything else! don't tell me that you are an artist too?
but if you cast bronze then what do you do with those? it sounds like a fascinating hobby.

No artist here, but Debbie (Wife), and Jennifer (Daughter) are. you basically carve what you want from wax, then dip the wax in a ceramic coating, Melt out the wax, and pour the bronze.

oh I'd love to see that process, have you done it yet?
hey sir, do you ever do anything with cars?

I have the furnace for the investment casting, but still need to buy the ceramic coating material. I made molds for the wax for investment casting when I was in college (I worked at a machine shop)

I do everything with cars. My Land rover is being repaired because the alternator bearings locked up. I had new bearings put in, and I am putting it back in the car right now. I just replaced a U joint, and the drive shaft has to go back in. I am moving the temperature sending unit in my Saturn Ion, to correct a design flaw. And I have a Mercedes 280i in the driveway that has injector problems. :(

hahaha! that is not funny but man you are funny because is there anything that you don't know or do? haha. well sir, the reason I asked is because we have a Jeep Compass and used it like crazy while we were in Ohio for all the snow in the winters.

But with all the salt on the roads up there, the bottom of the vehicle is all rusted, very rough. There is a leak in the oil pan and it slowly drips out oil
but the shop guys told us that since the bolts that hold the pan on have rusted off heads, they can't replace the oil pan.

do you know of any way to get those bolts out? I'm assuming they'd have to be drilled out?

You will need to drill the center of each bolt, and use an easy out. If you drill with a left hand drill bit, about half will come out before the extractor is used, with just the drill bit. Be sure to keep dust out of the open motor, be ready to re-close it ASAP! You can save cash by getting the parts from www.rockauto.com ahead of time.

If you paint the bottom with rust converting primer (PROTECT YOUR LUNGS FROM THE FUMES!) you can spray on a good undercoat, after it dries. The converting primer stops the rust from causing further damage, and helps the undercoating stick.

thank you sir, this is great information!

Debbie always says I am full of...it.

The reverse twist drill will be the hardest to find. I keep a few in my tool box by the mill.

I used a gas mask the last time I used that converting primer, the fumes Will damage the lungs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51