You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Writer: Tips to Develop Voice & Style

in #story7 years ago

@kaelci

  This article is geared toward new writers, and I agree there is nothing wrong with expanding your vocabulary and use fancy words. The problem is that most new writers can't use fancy language in the proper manner (not all new writers, some have an act for it), and in most cases it takes skill and experience to pull it off. It's usually after a writer has been writing for a while and developed their style can they incorporate fancy language and big words. I feel as in any endeavor it is best to learn and master the basics, and explore from there.

  And another problem I see a lot with new writers is that they use adverbs thinking they are fancy words.

  I have used big and fancy words in my writing, but it either was to convey a characters personalty or setting, and used no more than I had to.

Thank you for taking time to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62152.13
ETH 2441.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65