Horror Shorts # 1 - Mushroom Omelette

in #story6 years ago

header

The night was cold, I was on my way home.
Hungry, my intestines screamed, it was tearing up my internal frame. My stomach growled.
I needed eggs.
I walked to Sammy's grocery store, never liked that guy, Sammy. He was sociable, but I didn't see him that way, I didn't even look at him. I never did.
The store was small, I wouldn't care that much now that I'm starving, but it was oddly small. Looked like a front, little cathouse in the back? Don't think so.

I grabbed a dozen of white eggs, and a canned mushroom. Sammy was over by his fortress, bats, monitors, cameras. The guy had a phobia, he feared those amateur hoodlums. I'd gut them slowly if I was in his shoes, sociable they say.

"fifty-two dollars and thirty cents." said Sammy, the sociable prick.
"Say that again."
"You know I can't accept this anymore, I'm going against the store's policies."
"Policies? I pay when I get paid. Now add these to the fifty bucks"
"Fifty-two and..." He muttered, but I interrupted, "Whatever."

I walked out, he seemed displeased. Who cares?
I walked home, the thoughts of the past week is killing me, devouring my soul. I was unsuccessful this day, as I was all week.
I have been fired two weeks ago, I have been working for that fat slob for more than seven years. It would be fine seeing him in a coffin, wouldn't mind visiting.

"Hank I'm sorry, but due to your inability to manage the company's finances and legal matters, and due to the fact that I got this baby in my belly, I'm pleased to fire you. Asshole" He roared at me, in front of my colleagues.
Colleagues? More like vultures, preying on trust.
I was home, they took away my car as well.

I poured the mushrooms into the pan, broke a couple of eggs and sprayed some pepper. I never loved Sammy, I never will, I like Pepper. I sprayed too much pepper, it might ruin the mushroom's elegance and taste. The meal was ready, my stomach whimpering like a little child, hating its abusive father.
"Feed Me"

I went to the table and started eating, I ate like a hungry pig.
I wasn't a TV guy, never liked those waste of time. Waste of electricity money, the goddamned bills.
I finished half of the plate, it was a big plate, finally fed my monsters. Suddenly I heard a sound, it was a knock.

Twelve after midnight, can't be the mistaken delivery guy, can't be Sammy.
The door was knocked again.
Can't be Gerard, can he be the one knocking? Want me back in the Company?
The door was knocked again. Twice as louder.
Goddamned manners!

I got up to the door, I didn't have a peep hole. Idiot.
I opened the door, there stood the Devil, asking for my Soul.

"I'm sorry I came this late, sorry if I disturbed you, but can you turn the music down? I'm trying to have a good sleep, I got an interview tomorrow."
"And you are?" I asked the Devil, he was a young man, looked Asian. Maybe a Brit, I can't tell.
"Sorry, I'm David, I have been your neighbor for a couple of months."
"David?"
"I'd appreciate if you turned the music off or something"
"Sure, why don't you come inside, let me serve you something"
"That'd be nice, but I got an interview tomorrow, maybe another time?" He seemed sleepy, pissed, and full of lies. Full of bullshit.

Music? He must be mad, I walked to my bedroom and drowned in the sheets. I can hear the door, being knocked again.
I took a peek through the window, It was David again. He had a gun.
I rushed to the kitchen and searched through the rubbish, searched for the cleaver. I grabbed it and walked to the door, the floor was damp. I was in my robes.

I opened the door, David was there, displeased.
He had a cellphone in his hand, cellphones can't shoot bullets. I had a cleaver in my hand, there was a silence, he saw my cleaver.
I swung my arm and sliced through his neck, blood gushed out, DIE DEMON.

I took off his head, hid it with the other heads, the other rotting heads.
Went back to the door and carried his body, dropped it in my bloody pool, poured in lots of Alcohol and Vinegar. His body took some time to find its place among the other headless bodies, I cleaned the blood off the porch and closed the door.
I went to the dining table, I sat and cried.
The door was knocked. I was afraid.
My eyeballs are trying to squeeze through their place, my heart trying to pace itself.
It was a lady, lady David.

"Hi, is my Husband David in there? Sorry, I'm Anna, I'm your neighbor." She seemed nice.
"David is in, please come in."
I led her to the bathroom, opened the door, there was David. Enjoying his time.
Head in the tub, with other heads.

"He is also in the pool"
She passed out, so much blood, she couldn't handle the art.
I took her and threw her by the pool. Went to eat what was left from the mushroom omelette.
I headed back to bed, tomorrow is another day.
Got to find a job, and take Sammy home for dinner.
I fell asleep.
Anna screamed, she screamed till she was heard no more. Probably slipped and drowned
Tomorrow is another day.


Follow me to get more Horror Shorts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51