What's the most embarrassing thing your kid has said in front of your extended family?

in #story8 years ago

Can't believe this, my daughter is an only child who REALLY wants siblings. This Christmas, she told everyone that the present she was getting this year from me was a brother and a sister. Wrote it on her Christmas lists, told her teachers, everyone she knows. We gathered a load of friends and family just before Christmas to have a big meal, by which time, she had told everyone that she was to become a sister and that it was still a secret. Certainly a secret from me. The entire night, everyone was rushed off their feet trying to help me with things. I sat down to eat and poured myself a glass of wine to the horror of all my loved ones. I drank that and poured myself another, later on, to which my mother whispered to me "Do you really think you should have another?". "Mum, this is only my second glass, with a meal, for a special occasion... why shouldn't I?"

It came out then, and I pulled my daughter to one side and told her I wasn't having a baby, I certainly wasn't having twins, and I don't know why she told everyone I was. She said, "You ARE getting bigger, and YOU SAID that babies grow inside a lady and that makes them bigger to give a baby bump!" I explained to her that everyone's weight fluctuates a little, and we were having lots of treats around Christmas. She says she understands and we head back in.

"MUMMY ISN'T PREGNANT, SHE'S JUST GETTING FAT BECAUSE WE EAT LOTS OF CHOCOLATE AND TURKEY WITH STUFFING"

I may not forgive her for that one quickly.

Sort:  

Hahaha, these are the things that make having a kid so much fun.

When I was 4 or 5, my father showed me what he had gotten my mom for Christmas, an intricate looking diamond necklace. He told me to keep it a secret, and I planned to. On Christmas Eve, my mom jokingly asks me, "So what did your dad get me for Christmas?" to which I respond,
"I'm not going to tell you there's a diamond necklace in that box."
Oops.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.9 and reading ease of 81%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56