What "I Love Lucy" Taught Me About Life!

in #story6 years ago

I am usually busy after work and even on the weekends doing research to stay abreast of what is going on with computers, crytocurrencies and now this really cool thing called Steemit, but as I sit here a few hours before daylight savings time writing my first post on Steemit, I have a dvd of I Love Lucy in. The first episode ran on October 15, 1951 and was the beginning of a wonderful relationship with me and Lucy.

I remember watching reruns of I Love Lucy before my mother would take me to kindergarten as a child and even now Lucy, Ricky, Fred and Ethel still make me smile and bring me comfort so many years later. They made television history and became household names and brought joy the world over.

I am not always the one in my family or friends with the brightest ideas, but when I do have an idea they tend to go along with me. If my ideas go awry they call me "Lucy" and confirm they must be "Ethel" for going along with me.....I do take this as a complement. It just shows me that I am not always living a boring and conventional life. I want to know that I lived my life. That I could look back one day and know that I worked hard, smiled at my mistakes, and laughed with those who were with me when we made the mistakes.

On that note, there are so many things I learned from them. Where should I start?

*I learned that good friends are few and dear. That you will have disagreements, but love between real friends will last and its okay to make mistakes. Own your mistakes, apologize, learn from the mistake, move on and say I love you. Time is short...Real friendship, laughter and love is a blessing and a gift.

i-love-lucy-mertzes-quiz-orig.jpg

*It can be hard to go into business with friends, but if you do don't let it ruin the friendship. Get everything in writing and know what each of you is to do to make the business work. Have a plan in place. Don't fight over the small things.

*When you are sick it is always those that love you that will be there to take care of you no matter much you moan and groan. They will jump through hoops to get you back on track and feeling better, even if they are ready to kill you themselves.....Love keeps them from doing it!

*You don't have to be the best cook or housekeeper for your in-laws to love you. If you do your best and are genuinely trying they know and should respect you. Ask for help if you need it and make sure the person knows how much you appreciate their guidance.

*Don't put on airs. It will come back to bite you....I believe its called Karma.

*When you move to the country after living in the city those nighttime noises can be scary and your neighbors really do know what you are doing, especially if those neighbors are related to you. If they have your phone number this will be confirmed quickly.

*Always have someone you can depend on, whether you have money or not. True friends will be there either way.

*Not all apartments allow pets, so sometimes you have to hide the evidence of your four legged friend. That furry four legged friend is actually a family member.

*Driving across country with friends can make for memories that will last a lifetime. I have done it twice over 20 years ago and we still laugh and talk about it like it was yesterday. Next time I do it maybe I will add train travel, we have already traveled by automobile and air. We didn't travel by convertible like they did. The closest we were to being in a convertible was to have the windows down.

676px-I_Love_Lucy_title.svg.png

As I sit here thinking about all the things I learned from Lucy, Ricky, Fred and Ethel I am amazed at how much there is. I could not imagine not having them in my growing up years and all the years since. When I watch them, it's like sitting here with an old friend.

I did not realize when I started writing this all the things that would come to mind.v If I were to put them all down right now this would be an extremely long post. Maybe I will sit down again at a later date with these old friends and say "Thank You" for other things that I learned from them and the enjoyment they brought into my life.

Lucy, Ricky, Fred and Ethel


Thank You.png


I would love to hear from anyone else about what you might have learned from them or to share memories they gave you as well.

Best to you!

Carrie

Sort:  

Congratulations @simply-bob, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54