The Best Christmas Present in the World

in #story4 years ago (edited)

BEFORE YOU READ….
There are some dates or periods of time in the history of the world that
are so significant that everyone knows and remembers them. The story
you will read mention one such date and event: a war between the British
and the Germans in 1914. Can you guess which it was?

Do you know which events the dates below refer to?
4 JULY 1776 (b) 17 DECEMBER 1903
(c) 6 AUGUST 1945 (d) 30 JANUARY 1948
(e) 12 APRIL 1961 (f) 20 JULY 1969
The answers are in the next part.
(- : PART-1:-)
I spotted it in a junk shop in Bridport, a roll-top desk. The man said it was
early nineteenth century, And oak. I had wanted one, but they were far too
expensive. This one was in a bad condition, the Roll-top in several pieces,
one leg clously mended, scorch marks all down one side. It was going for
Very little money. I thought I could restore it. It would be a risk, a challenge,
but I had to have it. I Paid the man and I brought it back to the garage. I
began work on it on Christmas Eve.
I removed the roll-top completely and pulled
out the drawers.The veneer had Lifted almost everywhere- it looked like water damage
to me. Both fire and water had clearly taken Their roll on this desk. The last drawer was
stuck fast. I tried all I could to ease it out gently. In the end, I used brute force. I struck it
sharply with the side of underneath, a secret drawer. There Was something in there. I
reached in and took out a small black tin box. Sellotaped to the top of it Was a piece of
lined notepaper, and written on it in shaky handwriting: “ Jim’s last letter, received
January 25, 1915. To be buried with me when the times comes, “ I knew as I did it that it
was wrong Of me to open the box, but curiosity got the better of my scruples. It usually does.
Inside the box there was an envelope. The address read “ Mrs Jim Macpherson
12 Copper Beeches, Bridport, Dorset,” I took out the letter and unfolded it. It was written
in pencil a Dated at the top- “ December 26, 1914”.
story christms.jpg

Note:- Please comment on below the answer of the
Dates I mention on top and please notify me if u like
The story then brings up the 2nd part.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23