It's Always 12 O'Clock Somewhere

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time I put a calendar on my wall to make my life easier. Long story short, it didn't. Why? I have trouble remembering the calendar exists. True story.

Apparently the inability to recall the existence of and/or use calendars is pervasive in the walls of my skull. I have tried Google Calendar, and alarms and alerts on my phone, FitBit and clock. Emailing myself info. Notes. Lists. And so much more. The only scheduling tool that seems to work for me is text message reminders.

My brain can't be scheduled. Ha!

IMG_9273.PNG

I mentioned yesterday that some of the work I do is business coaching. I help people set up and maintain publication schedules, writing practices, social media presences and more. But I can't remember there is a calendar on my wall.

[Insert facepalm here.]

Years ago I quit gluten. The further I got from the stuff, the more directional skills I attained. Suddenly, I could not only tell left from right but find my way around town and travel to my family's house about two hours away without the mind-numbing panic that not knowing where the f*** you are can cause. It was amazing.

This mental clarity touched many areas of my life, except scheduling. I am the queen of double-booking. Or imagining an appointment. I am the queen of not remembering I have a place to write it all down in plain sight.

[Insert more facepalms here.]

There must be a solution that won't result in timestream apocalypse.

IMG_9274.PNG

More importantly to me in this moment: there must be others who have this problem. I mean, I don't even think putting blinking neon lights around the thing would get me to check it or fill it in. What's the solution?

This seems like a good place to ask for tips. Who here can help me get my life in order? What tools are you using? Someone help me before homeschooling begins. I'm feeling a wee bit terrified but laughing at myself in equal amounts.

How do you keep your life straight? Especially interested in answers from those of you who have children with extracurriculars and work from home.

images from pixabay.com, edited using WordSwag

Sort:  

This made me laugh as I'm always double booking. I have a diary that lives in my bag, I just keep forgetting to take it out never mind feed it the ink from the pen. Although I do check my calendar on the wall. I have circles round dates with squiggles I can't make out. So on my xmas list is a calendar with space to write. I'm looking forward to you finding a solution. :)

Aha! I knew I couldn't be alone in this. I, too, am guilty of leaving myself impenetrable notations. Like, why? Why do I do that?

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

What has helped me is to have a joint Google calendar with my husband. I'm often wondering what he's up to and then I can think to myself "I bet he's wondering the same thing about me."

That it's for someone else actually ends up helping me be more organized. Also makes things like going to Funkytown a little easier ;P

Bahaha! I need a calendar that reads my mind. One that just taps right into the mental load and prioritizes for me. Kind of the reverse of what happens in The Matrix when Neo learns Kung Fu.

Oh man, that sounds perfect!!

Nice works!! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85