Undivided and Decided (an original poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

You fought it for so long
You've kept it all inside
You've ran behind excuses
Where you thought that you could hide
Took too many chances
You've waited for too long
Thought we'd get it right one day
But we got it all so wrong

Tough luck, I quit
It has to be this way
That's all, no more
There's nothing left to say
I know, you know
You never really cared
So what, guess what
I'm not playing fair

Undivided and decided
Our love stood on its own
Undecided and divided
Our love stands all alone

I'm almost down to my last cigarette
I know that I'm not well
These past few days that you've been gone
Have been so much time in hell
You've had me hanging on ethereal strings
I'm walking pin striped lines
And I'm looking for a four door Seville
To get me to the other side

What else, what more
Do I have to take from you
No more, no way
I tell ya, I'm through
You know, I know
About this game we play
Who cares, not you
But who else could treat me this way?

What am I supposed to do
What am I supposed to say
There will be no love tomorrow
Cause there is no love today

There, I've said what's on my mind
I've fought this burning cause
I've played too much with fire
You've rubbed my heart too raw

What am I to mind?
What am I to feel?
When you've learned that love can blind
Even if it isn't real

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36