Story | Promises.

in #story7 years ago

Promises.

A Short Story by Sebastian Jacobs


Promises are meaningless, they are used to create a false sense of reassurance. Promises are and were always supposed to be an intimate connection of trust between two people. 

I would like to think that there are two types of people when it comes to the realm of trust. The first type of person is the "logical thinker", well, that's what I like to call them. Once let down they will not expect to put the same amount of trust in the person who has wronged them by breaking the mutual trust. The second type of person is the "persistent believer", these are the types of people to continue putting faith in the same person who has done them wrong regardless of how many times they have broken their trust. These are the people who always ask the question of, "Why does this always happen to me?". These types of people feel as if they would break the friendship if they had to detach themselves from the trust that the two parties had at the beginning of the relationship. Causing the relationship to crumble, as a relationship, whether that be with a  significant other or just a casual friendship, if there is no trust, the relationship will not last. This is why it is so important to stay accountable for the things that you say you will do and for the things that you promise.

This false sense of reassurance and security between two people is a free fall, knowing, well... Hoping, that the other person is there to catch you when you fall. When the person who is supposed to be catching you, gets distracted and forgets about you while you fall, you are going to hit the ground, and that is a devastating blow. You will need time to heal. It is like a knife through your back, a dull, rusty knife, when your trust is taken advantage of. There are some people who kill themselves catching someone else in need, because they value that persons trust. Some can only wish that everyone valued trust like the people who would bend over backwards. The question lies with, are you prepared and ready to take on such a task? 

My Inspiration

I thought it was about time I wrote something about this topic, this again goes back to a personal issue I faced (most of my stories and poems are written from personal experience). I had a friend who I would do anything for, I would never have failed him in any promise I made to him, but at the time I was a persistent believer, because in return I would never get anything. Now, I do not mean something in return to be something of material cost, but rather the same amount of accountability and trust that I was sharing with him. Unfortunately this never happened, and as I got older, I realised that it was time to let go because it was hurting me more that it was helping. That is exactly what I did, I let go and suddenly felt an overwhelming sensation of relief, as if mountains were lifted off my shoulders.

This has been Sebastian, and I am signing out ! 



Sort:  

Hi Sebastian, don't forget to use the gedwriting tag. It would help you get more exposure.

Thank you ! I shall be sure to add it in next time :D

very good post :)

Thank you very much ! I really do appreciate it !

It is ok :)) I hope you day have start good :))

Good post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43