Story | In the Eye of the Storm.

in #story7 years ago

In the Eye of the Storm.

A short piece by Sebastian Jacobs

My heart stood as the eye of the storm, desperate to find the silver lining, gasping for air as the flood of emotions take over my body. For it was my heart creating hurricanes, hurricanes that spread through my body, slowly seeping into my bones and penetrating through the few thin layers of my soft, silky skin. This storm, lurking in all of us, is perilous, as it drives our obstinate behaviours into a recession in which we are unable to get back from. Tapping the life out of us, only to have the last drop of our emotional and physical well-being drained from us.

Many ask why these storms bombard our lives. These storms are cruel and merciless, destroying everything in their path. Most people look for a way to put themselves out of the eternal suffering that they feel they have been burdened with. It is incredible that some people can find shelter from this storm, the silver lining was found. This silver lining could be one of many things, maybe it was that they found someone who they were meant to be with, true love. Maybe, it was a small sliver of imagination that that person could use to hold onto and pursue. Nobody gives you purpose but yourself.

Some people try bare through this pain, muted by society. These people think that baring through the pain of having the roots that hold you upright, mentally, emotionally and physically, being pulled out from beneath you is possible. Then only to have your leaves torched and branches snapped. There are plenty trees around you, but not one would send a butterfly to you. You become an empty, lifeless tree stump, barely standing.

That tree stump, the same empty, lifeless one, once stood tall, tearing open the sky where it could see for miles and miles, only now to watch the trees around it grow and fall, just long enough for them to realise that it is too late for the tree stump, because not long from now, it will be washed away by the storm, never to be seen again.


My Inspiration

Quite a touchy topic, I had a friend who was suffering through a very depressive time in his life, he had no direction, no self given purpose. He needed someone, and fortunately, I was not selfish and helped where I could, after that experience I realised just how much the smallest things mean to someone in the hardest of times. This piece is what I picture things would have played out like, if someone did not do anything. This piece has changed quite a substantial amount from the time I wrote it first, but I would like to think that I have improved it to get my point out even more. This is more a piece about how society mutes depression and that people turn their backs on someone who needs it, I am not saying it is all people, but there are people in this people who do, because they are scared, they are scared of what might happen and they fear the unknown of not knowing how to handle it if something had to happen to the person they create this connection with. I will post about a small analogy that I had recently thought up, I feel like it will give great insight and will leave you with something to think about ! I do hope you enjoyed this short piece and all the best for this weekend ! You are going to do great ! Take care.

This has been Sebastian, and I am signing out !


Sort:  

Nice writing, keep it up my friend.

Thank you very much man ! I really appreciate it !

Today I would like to share an amazing story I read on steemit you could have a read here is the link from @awriter is a story about evil sprit the write captured this story wonderfully
https://steemit.com/gedwriting/@awriter/the-temple-of-ashes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43