CryptoGranny arrives on Steemit & makes her son very proud :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

CryptoGranny Main pic.jpg

My mother came to visit me in Bali 3 months ago to see her grandchildren and learn more about this new obsession of mine playing on my computer all day, 'crypto-facebooking' as she put it!

By the time she left she had a good understanding of cryptocurrency, knew how to use the wallet on her iPad and had invested into BTC & Dash.

And now she has her own @cryptogranny account on Steemit!

She bought her BTC when it was just $900. And I don't think she believed her (notoriously naughty) son when I told her this was a great price to buy! Now of course, she believes me and is most grateful & excited. Her Dash has doubled in value too.

She has been stunned beyond belief after spending a lifetime watching her stock investments increase at a snail's pace.

One of my earliest memories as a child was looking up the stock & shares section of the Times newspaper every morning with great excitement to read her the daily prices for Hansen, her main investment.

CryptoGranny gets it now!

Just the other day she paid a deposit for me with her credit card (for a family Christmas hotel booking) and my heart was warmed so much when she asked me to pay her back in Bitcoin. What a great and seamless transition she has made!

Which for someone of her age is not always so easy. She's in her 70s by the way. And in perfect health :)

IMG_7632 (1).jpg
That's her with my daughter Luna, when she came to visit us in Bali a few months ago

How has she achieved perfect health?

Well, many would argue that she is just lucky.

From my perspective it is a different story.

Ten years ago I lived a very different kind of life.

fat sam 10 years ago.jpg

sexysammy!.jpg

Then I changed a few things...

  • Started sun-gazing

  • Stopped wearing shoes

  • Had my Atlas bone re-aligned

  • Started meditating

  • Quit my job

  • Sold all my possessions

  • Became a raw vegan

  • Said goodbye to England!

...and now I look like this :)

The effect at the time on my family was profound. At first they freaked out, calling an emergency family meeting to discuss my sudden loss of weight and growing number of strange habits.

I was given my chance to explain and did my best to cover the food topic in order that they might at least understand my weight loss.

Despite my words they still didn't trust that I knew what I was doing due to their firm belief/conditioning that meat was an essential part of the human diet, so they sent me to see an expensive nutritionist who confirmed very quickly that I was in perfect health and it was them that should be examining their diets!

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 19.59.42.png

Do you have the ability to CHANGE?

Most people don't.

My mother however is one of the few who does. She has been a vegan for three years now and all her aches and pains have gone.

Like me she has experienced an increase in energy levels, taken up yoga and a variety of creative outlets, finally embracing her long-forgotten love of painting.

Just this morning I was blessed with these beautiful watercolours she created last week:

IMG_1038.jpeg

beach.jpg

IMG_1048.jpeg

How completely cool is that?

I love how she is able to begin new hobbies and take on new life-changing perspectives even in her seventies.

She is an example to all people of her age group and I am so excited that she will be joining us here on Steemit to share her wisdom, just as our wise elders should.


She is the BRAVEST traveller I know!

There is much I want to tell you about how amazing she is, but I should probably leave that to her.

One thing I will tell you is that when she hit her 70s, she decided to buy a Toyota Land Cruiser 4x4 and drove with her partner from London to Africa where they spent three years exploring this vast & beautiful continent.

@cryptogranny montage.jpg

They documented their journey through their site: http://4x4plus2.com and inspired many people of their generation to follow in their steps.

They even came to visit me in rehab in Plettenberg Bay, South Africa and camped near my clinic for a few weeks to offer their support at a difficult time in my life.

...before driving all the way back to London!

She is currently planning the next trip, but I will let her reveal that to you herself :)


Thanks for reading and make sure you follow @cryptogranny and share her experiences with your parents. I am sure she will inspire other potential crypto-grannies to join Steemit and start travelling this amazing playground we call planet Earth!

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover."

--- Mark Twain

Agung Banner.jpg

I will be donating half the Steem earned from this post to my mum's new @cryptogranny account.

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

amazing inspirational story a solid upvote

Thanks very much for your solid upvote :)

Hey. Very interesting story, I liked, good luck to you my friend and prosperity

You're forever growing on this journey!
Continue to enlighten your mother about crypto.
Stay healthy!

Thank you my friend. I will do that :)

thanks for this beautiful and amazing post, from London to Africa... that's amazing at that age for 3 years! cool inspirational, resteemed and upvoted

Welcome to @cryptogranny. @samsteonhill thank you for providing a great welcome to your mom. Look forward to reading more. Sounds like she had a great visit in Bali

Thanks very much for your support of both of us!

Amazing how you drive your way of life for a greater gain. @cryptogranny welcome to the community.

That's a great story and very encouraging for this senior who is about to hit 70, and is still full of adventure too. her artwork is incredible. I have to find her on here and follow her! thanks for sharing!

i will resteem your post. thanks a lot fir this.

Such a great article..will follow her

That was a great inspiring read, good job on getting your mum on to steemit :) I have been trying to introduce steemit to my friends and family but most of them who did come on got discouraged after a few days. It's amazing how little people are actually up for a challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06