The Worst Mother's Day Gift Ever

in #story8 years ago (edited)

I have had a lot of embarrassing, awkward and dumb stuff happen to me over the years. Mostly all my fault. I'm gonna share another one of these stories with you. Enjoy. @runrudy

This is a true story, reenacted with animated GIFs of how I royally screwed up Mother's Day this year. Let's begin to tell you that my wife sometimes works the graveyard shift at the hospital. Just so happens that the Saturday before Mother's Day she was scheduled for graveyard. After she works the graveyard shift, she comes home early in the morning and sleeps like a log until about 1pm.

My daughters and I had a plan to fix up the house in the morning to surprise her when she woke up for Mother's Day. You know, the whole breakfast/lunch in bed, flowers, gifts, etc...

I had also secretly printed a bunch of photos to replace in all the old picture frames we had hanging on our walls. These new pictures were from our vacations and updating old baby pictures of the girls with current ones. This picture in particular was the image that started it all.

My-Little-Girl-Portrait-Children-Photographer-San-Diego

I have a small bench in my garage workshop where I was framing all the pictures.

This picture was to go into a 24 x 20 inch wood frame with a glass panel, same size like the one below.

I was holding the large frame up and had just replaced the old image when the glass panel from the frame fell out.

It hit the ground and shattered all over the floor.

For about roughly three seconds I thought, "F*, there goes that present."

Then I looked down, saw broken glass everywhere, then I saw blood, then more blood. Then I looked at my foot and it looked like a cleaver hit it. I could see white, bone, muscle, tendons, blood etc...

I guess out of idiot instinct, instead of moving out of the way when something sharp is falling, I must of tried to catch it with my barefoot from breaking?

I was wearing shorts, no socks and no shoes. Just like the picture above. So, it was pretty much like this:

The adrenaline kicked in and I just yelled, "Noooo!".

I one hopped it into the house, leaving a trail of blood, yelling for my wife.

I ran right past my eldest daughter and she screamed and freaked out.

Did I mention that my wife sleeps like a log after the graveyard shift?

She was only asleep for maybe an hour when I came busting through the bedroom door. I'm screaming like a little girl, telling her to wake up and that I had f*d up. (not the first time). My poor wife, she is rudely awaken from her deep slumber.

I go to the bathroom, sit down on the edge of the tub, and start yelling for a towel. My youngest daughter comes in and is weirdly not bothered by all the blood and commotion. I yell at her, "Go get me a towel!"

My wife gets out of bed, sees the blood, my foot, and then proceeds to sit down on the toilet to pee right in front of me.

Still waiting for a towel, I'm like WTF are you doing! I'm dying here.

She tells me calmly, "If we're going to the hospital, I need to pee first."

As I am still bleeding all over the bathroom floor waiting for a towel. My foot is starting to feel numb and I try to move my toes. Nope, zero digit movements. Then my mind and thoughts start panicking. I am an avid runner and have challenged myself in marathons before. I start shaking my head and mumbling to myself, "I'm fcked, I'm fcked, I'm fcked. That's it no more marathons for me. I'm gonna be a fckin gimp."

Finally, one of my daughters throws me a towel.

It just happens to be white and my wife yells from the toilet, "Not that one!"

Too late, I already start wrapping it around my foot. Trying to put pressure on it to stop the bleeding.

While my dogs below are licking up my blood from the floor like a spilt cherry Slurpee.

We jump in the car and rush to the emergency room. After we check in, of course there were less doctors working the sh*t shift on Mother's Day morning.

I had to wait for a Physician's assistant to stitch me up. To be honest, he was good and I would have taken anyone at that point to just get my wife home.

He said it was really deep but a perfectly clean cut. I got a tetanus shot, ten stitches and he didn't think any tendons were severed. Gave me some Vicodin, told me to visit my primary doctor on Monday, anticipate physical therapy and sent us home.

We ended up spending five hours in the emergency room on Mother's Day morning and my wife was running on empty.

The car ride home was really quiet and awkward. All I remember her saying was, "I can't believe you used the white towel."

A few weeks later, she finally got that Mother's Day gift.

Thanks for reading,

Upvote / ReSteem to support my work.

Thank you in advance,

Rudy

Late%20Date%20Steem%20Final%203-M.jpg

@runrudy

All Animated GIFs GIPHY

Sort:  

ROFLMAO @runrudy - you're a winner fer sher.
Fekkin' picture with the fekkin' kids. LOL

Thank you @merej99! I am not much of a writer so that means a lot coming for a writer like yourself. Cheers.

Great story!! The GIFs are a nice touch! I'm glad that, in the end, everything turned out alright! :D

I am happy you liked it @birdie. I am ok. Been 6 months now and not 100% but functional enough : )

Something similar happened to my friend except she tried to catch a falling drinking glass and almost lost her thumb in the process.

Ouch. That sounds bad. I knew a guy back in college. He was studying to be a surgeon. He fell down holding a Snapple bottle. The bottle shattered and sliced through his hands. Lost touch after graduation. I don't know if he ever was able to fulfill his dream. Life is crazy like that, the smallest turn left or right and your life can change.

That's shit luck. Hopefully he can still work in his field but anything is possible. I agree, all it takes is one moment.

Dude!!
I feel for you. (and your poor wife)
I hope your foot has healed up and you're ok to go back running.
And it looks like you have a budding doctor in your house, that is not fazed by lots of blood and grown men squealing like a little girl hehe.

It's Labour weekend here in NZ and I'm off out to pick up a load of bricks. After reading this, I'm going to put some boots on my feet. Just in case. ;-)

Thanks @trevor.george. I am ok. Running and hiking again but not 100%. It is ok, able to do what I need to do. It's getting better every month.

That is a good point about my daughter. She has said that she wants to be come a Vet. You never know. Yes, like I mentioned to @saiku. Life can change on a dime if your not careful. Have a great holiday. Cheers.

You are so lucky! Glad to hear it worked out OK even though you had to sacrifice the white towel:)

You are right, just like my physical therapist. She told me that if it hit 6 inches lower, it could have been much worse. Super lucky. I thank the stars for my lucky scars.

"I can't believe you used the white towel," haha classic. I'm sure she loved the gift afterwards :)

I usually have her proofread stuff like this for me since I'm not the best writer. She wasn't that amused. Have a nice weekend. Later dude.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65236.24
ETH 3401.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19