You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Journal] A Monster Wants To Be A Girl // Healing From PTSD

in #story7 years ago

You wrote recently about the difficulty of describing an authentic epiphany, and I think singular moments of realization depend on countless quiet moments of reflection that cumulatively change the course of one's life.

You described how: "Over the course of the last several months, the ineffable monster inside of me has begun to slowly transform into something of a manageable problem." I think that type of slow transformation is often indicative of an incipient epiphany.

Lastly, I can relate to what you wrote about feeling that it's no longer acceptable to be unhappy. In my case, I became so nauseated with the constant self-indulgence of unhappiness that I finally experienced a cognitive breakthrough from my former patterns of behavior.

I've really appreciated your writing since you joined Steemit and I look forward to your next piece!

Sort:  

Definitely agree with you. Our brains have to do quiet work to culminate into revelations.

It is interesting to describe sadness as "indulgence", but that's often what it is. It can often come from deep-seated egotistical issues and a resolve to not be unhappy. It's a displacement of responsibility.

I'm glad you enjoyed - I'm definitely going to share more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88