You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ten Again, A short story

in #story7 years ago

WOW, this was such an amazing piece of writing! Such a compelling and captivating storyline, too. The progression was definitely smooth, and that ending was definitely unexpected! This story moved me so much because it speaks the truth of my life as well. For whever reason, when we get older we tend to push our family away or distance ourselves from them, no longer making time to be with them and make sure that we still appreciate all that they do for us, etc.

This opening line, though!

I never really understood the real concept of happiness.

You drew me in right from that first powerful sentence! Amazing work, seriously! As a fellow writer, I can only hope that someday I can craft as compelling stories as you! I hope you win the contest.

Sort:  

Oh my god, thanks for such kind words. This means a lot to me you know, when people read my work, however small and it touches them. Feel like my time and living is worthwhile. We do forget everything important that is being taught to us when we are kids. Be nice to each other, be honest, be selfless and compassionate. I wish more and more people remembered that you know. And the fact that parents are not your device people who took care of you when you were young and then you abandon them as you no longer need them.

I'm so glad that my words had some weight for you. I know all too well how much a reader's kind words can make a difference! I like to think that it's no so much that we forget about all those things, I think it's more that the world that we grow up in forces us to discard those childhood ideals and harden ourselves because the rest of the world becomes hard towards us. That's why I love the EDM culture and lifestyle though, it's a place where we can remember our true setting and let the compassion and love and respect flow back into our lives. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54