STORY: THE PEPPERED CHICKEN - PART 1.............................(MY CHRONICLES #2)

in #story7 years ago (edited)




So, it’s a Friday before I go on a 3-week deserved leave, from work.

I wake up, feeling good. Feeling more refreshed than the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

There was just something cool about the day.

I never knew there was such a sweet sensation one derives knowing that you are a day’s work away from leave.

I do the usual morning ritual – pray, shower and freshen up. I smell myself, and I smell like a garden – hell yeah!

I head out, and say hi to Jimmy - my car. I get him cranked up and hit the road, heading for work (and yes…..I call my car, JIMMY – I wonder when cars, ships, or boats would get masculine recognition).

I got to work, I worked (sic)…….

I called our intern at the office, Judith, from the reception, about a hundred times to do a hundred little things for me. Eventually she got around paying NEPA abi PHCN their monthly N2000 if-you-don’t-pay-we-will-disconnect-you fee, for me.

Fast forward to 4.30pm and I’m through with my work. My boss is having a meeting upstairs with some management staff. Voices are raised, doors are banged and chairs are scrapped on the floor. I was subtly informed earlier that it is not my business, so I don’t interfere - apparently a management staff was going to get the boot.

Time to head home, I leave the office and head to the car park. I holla at Jimmy, and he responds. I give Jimmy a high-five, for being a good boy, and for not refusing to start, like he did 3 days earlier, after work.

I tap the car stereo, and play the CD inside. “Hustling” by Rick Ross feat Jay-Z and Young Jeezy resonates from my speakers, and I bump and nod to the rhythm, as I hustle my way home.

I get home safe and swiftly, in the face of little or no traffic. On my way, I drove past the barbing saloon on my street, and I reckon I would visit the barber, Emeka, this weekend, for my usual hair-cut.

On getting indoors, I head for my room and change into my favourite pair of jeans and a polo top. Just then, the rain drizzle started. Feeling hungry and seeing how I dislike rain, I get an umbrella. I had to go find food, as I hadn’t prepared anything; in anticipation of my leave and my apparent desire to travel.

I grab my keys, lock-up and head towards my barber, along my street, I stop to say hello and check if he’ll be available this weekend for my hair-cut. See how he ‘yabbed’ me….

“Bros, na you wan bring this rain o! E never even begin fall naim you don carry this big umbrella.”

I’m quite embarrassed, partly because I couldn't fittingly respond to his jibe (i still struggle to speak the rich and endowed Nigerian pidgin language).

And so, I decided to dash home to drop the umbrella. I recalled washing lastnite and spreading some clothes outside on the line, that morning. Peeking at the sky, I decide it isn’t going to rain afterall. I don become weatherforecaster.

I head out.

Where am I headed? Mr Biggs. There’s this Mr Biggs spot very close to my house. The food is terrible, the service is lousy most of the time, except for Stella; she’s an angel (sic). The Mr Biggs' only saving grace is their moin-moin (leaf wrapped moin-moin).

So, I walk into the place, talking with my sister on the phone and a bounce in my step. I approach the counter. The serving girl is rude as usual, but I’m in a swell mood, so I make my order. My regular seat is taken. But no qualms.....feeling like a cool gee, I take another seat.

I settle down with my tray. I scan around. People are busy fiddling with their meals all around me. Two girls sitting three tables away, steal glances my way, but I maintain my triple C swag – Cool, Calm and Collected.

I get to the business of the day - devouring my delicious leaf wrapped moin-moin…..(then it happens).

I’m done with my first wrap of moin-moin and decide that it’s time to fork the peppered chicken I ordered as support.

I don’t know how much oil was used in frying and preparing the chicken. What I know is that oil and pepper mixed together splashed into my left eye…..



…............TO BE CONTINUED!


If you enjoyed this story, kindly let me know in the comments section below, and i would appreciate that and hasten the part 2.


Image: Designed by @rickie



As always, thank you for your time and for reading my post.

If you found this post interesting, then kindly UPVOTE, RESTEEM and FOLLOW @rickie, for more quality posts.


@rickie

Sort:  

Very funny a chronicle.... (laughing) this bachelors' life is awesome. Enjoy it while it lasts boss. Hehehe... Great story

Lolz....Thanks boss @diskorvery. Glad you liked the story.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rickie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Don't be like Nollywood, drop the whole parts here na. Lol. Good story.

Lolz @bitfairy ....... Glad you like it buddy!

Congratulations @rickie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice start up... Hope u continue ur good write up with happy ending... How many chronicles???

Lolz.....Thanks @geetasnani. I would set up a committee to look into the matter and make appropriate recommendations. Hehe

:) yes u should... Obviously so many chronicles to handle

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68492.14
ETH 2699.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72