Shred of Hope (Original Story—exclusive for steemit, Featuring @mindfreak)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Greetings ladies and gentlemen!
Let me present you @mindfreak, the talented author of this post.


Shred of Hope

dreaming-feild-girl-hope-love-Favim.com-326192efb7e.jpg

My mother always told me that love was the greatest gift anyone could give. And that those opened themselves up to love would always find it.

But that was years ago.

Before she died. I did try to take her advice. But it was rejection, after rejection, after rejection.

And though I was trying to take my mother's advice, one can handle so much before they close themselves off.

I felt like I was going through the motions. Trying to go forward without a clear sense of direction.

And I was lonely.

I did the only thing that I could do. I kept going even though I ached Inside. Because, along with that ache was a shred of hope. That hope hung there fiercely, it was undying, unyielding, Even as I was torn through pain.

I was moving through the motions, finding no joy in life. Then he showed up.

He was playful, kind, and he would seek me out. He seemed to genuinely like and care about me.

humor9e1f2.jpg

But I was not stupid. I would not make the same mistakes I had made before. I spurned him over and over and over again. But he kept coming back.

His patience impressed me. He kept coming back no matter how many tines I tried to make him leave

But I knew what would happen if I let my barriers down. He could no longer want me. And I would be left broken, again.

Day after day I spurned him. And day after day he would come again, still smiling, still happy.

forest-leaving-girl-boy-favim-com-471508_largecea26.jpg

But one day he didn't come.

I waited, expecting him. But he did not come. Day after day, During the time I realised even though I had not let my barriers down, somehow he had snuck past them.

I was broken. I missed him. I wished he would come back. But he didn't.

My pain felt worse than ever before. I just wanted him to come back. I promised myself that if he returned I would welcome him back and open up.

But no matter how much I wished and hoped, the days continued by without him appearing.

clock-1606919_192049335.jpg

The one day, as I sat wishing, longing for him to appear, I suddenly had a thought. Why was I waiting for him? He had already done his part. Now it was my turn. It was as though I had been struck by lightning. My joy returned in a flash. And that shred of hope grew into a mountain.

I went to his house, hope clutching my heart. I knocked on the door. We simply stared at one another. It was a long moment, but then a smile slowly spread across his face.

He and I were hardly separated from that moment. We were the best of friends and I loved him more than I could say.

My mother was right. Even though it may hurt, if you leave your heart open for long enough, someone will come to fill it.

Someone will come to stay. After all,

He came for me.

giphyfee05.gif


Image Sources : 1, 2, 3 ,4, 5.


By this post I'm joining the great steemit initiative on promoting good authors.

This post has been written by @mindfreak exclusively for steemit.
The author will receive all and any Steem Dollars from this post.
If you liked the post, please follow the author.

Would appreciate your upvotes and comments!

Sort:  

Ha, it's the most touching story I've read since I was a kid ;D

Thank you so much @paketkita.net
If you like such stories please follow me @mindfreak

yes sir,,, l am follow you

Great story, very touching @mindfreak!

Thanks!
Like I said here already this is the most touching story I've read in years ;D

nice touching story! thanks for sharing this exclusive piece.

Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it ;D

Thank you so much @bonitaxm
Please follow me for more such fictional stories.

following you!

Beautifully written - I'm going to follow mindfreak I think :)

Thank you @lifeisawesome. That is my privilidge. I love your work

I assure you, the privilege is all mine. Lovely story of breaking free. We all have these obstacles in life - breaking free from them are so freeing :)

Thank you! All your posts inspire me each and everyday ;D
Life is awesome!

Thank you so much @nubchai
I am glad you liked it.

Thank you for reading and support to @mindfreak ;D

My pleasure, richman. It's very hard for good writers to get attention here, much less money. \When I look at the daily payout post, the same writers are usually at the top of the payments everyday, especially fiction. So your efforts to highlight other writers is really appreciated. Thank YOU.

Nice piece of writing! Followed @mindfreak, thanks @richman.

Thank you so much @richardcrill. I am glad you liked it :)

Thank you for your kind words! All the best ;D

Please keep these coming. I enjoy seeing new writers highlighted.

I appreciate your constant support @hanshotfirst!
Kind regards,
@richman

wow cool I love all this stuff, but I can not be as perfect as it ... :-) really really cool I really like sometimes three times a day I accidentally saw it over and over again

Thank you for the story and thank you again for looking at mine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41