Emotions...

in #story7 years ago

FB_IMG_1515185296012.jpg

Meet my father.
I have three brothers and I am the only daughter he has. Ironically, my father and I are always at each others throats because we literally see ourselves once in a year during Christmas.
Coming from a broken home means that we, as children, are usually expected to chose. Our fathers tend to feel threatened when we are closer to our mothers and this has always kept me in an awkward position with my father.
Eventually, I moved to school and I didn't have to chose or see any of my parents all the time if I didn't want to.
This caused jealousy on both sides and even created a big gulf between my father and I.
I was determined that I would no longer be hurt by my parents because of their insecurities so I stayed away. Through our arguments and angry sessions I refused to give in to weakness because I was determined to be what I was to them- a daughter- instead of a bag for them to heap their emotional outbursts.
It is true that absence makes the heart grow fonder though, because I can say now, with peace, that I have gained some respect, I am no longer thrown in the middle of their issues and I have learned to calmly state what I will not allow in my life without getting into a fight with them.
I am happy.
Entirely.
Absence curbs emotional outbursts.
No matter how crazy a situation is, give it time and remember never to settle for less.
I'm so excited that you all take time to read my posts.
I hope they touch your hearts and actually teach you things.
Xoxo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59696.15
ETH 2618.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41