The Life of a Maverick, Connecting the Dots Between Ideas and People With Just the Right Skills.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Like most of us who have found ourselves spending time on Steemit's platform, I would say that I am a maverick.

I like to think and I like to take old ideas and turn them inside out to create something entirely new.

I also like to share what I have learned or what I have figured out with other people. Especially, with those whom I think will be genuinely interested, motivated and have the skills to take a new or re-worked idea and... run with it.

This is exactly what happened when I stumbled across a website belonging to an artist in Australia. Unfortunately, I don't remember what her name is, but I really liked her work. She was painting fabric using sacred geometric shapes by "dotting" them into existence. When you saw them up-close, they looked like a series of small dots, but when you took a step back and looked at them from a different angle, you could see organic shapes, jump right out at you. (Not unlike a stereogram, but in a folk-art kind of way, as opposed to being computer generated.)

Once I saw her work, it inspired me and I immediately started to think about my girl-friend, who'd been going through a rough time.

About 10 years prior, she had closed the small craft store that she had started and moved away from the city where it was located. Her passion was to "tole paint" and in her store, she ran classes to teach others how to do it. I knew that she would immediately "get" this new idea and I also knew that she would have the skills to transform this idea, using her tole painting artistic abilities into something that would be uniquely hers.

Naturally, I couldn't wait to describe the idea to her. I sent her an email describing the concept at about 7:30 am one morning. I thought, I'll see if this "lights" her up.

By 4:00 pm, that same day, she had driven to my shop and presented me with her first creation...

It was a gift for me.  A "thank-you" for giving her an idea about something that she could be passionate about, again.

(This is the first stone.)

She had successfully connected the dots of the idea, (literally) and created a new form of tole painting using her artistic ability on stone. Her first step was to forage for a smooth round stone in her backyard. Then, she washed it really well, and started painting it, one dot and one colour at a time. She added more dots in a layered fashion once the first layers of dots were done drying. To finish, she sprayed the entire stone with a clear varnish to seal and protect it. (With the sealant, the stones can be used outside as garden ornaments.)

(Here it is from a different angle. When you touch it feels like braille. The stone is smooth and the dots are raised. It has a very pleasing feel when you hold it in the palm of your hand. It reminds me of both, a mandala and of mala meditation beads.)

This led my girlfriend to start another business, dot painting patio stones, garden rocks and flower pots. Marketing was done using word of mouth and in a matter of days she had several orders.

Foraging for every smooth beach stone that she could get her hands on, promptly ensued. 

I commissioned her to paint 3 more for me.

These 3 stones, look similar because they are painted with the same colours, but the designs are each unique.

I have them displayed together and I think they are really special.

My girl-friend's name is Kim Hooey.

She is the tole-painting artist who has made all 4 pieces.

Her on-line business is called: Kimz Christmas Balls and Garden Candy.

I took a wooden tray that once held 3 votive candles, put some large aquarium stones in the bottom of each section and placed the painted stones on top. It's different which makes it interesting to look at. Plus, it's a cool story. ;)

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan




Sort:  

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here. Join us In the Foraging-Trail and let's discuss Foraging Related Topics

WOW! Those are quite intricate! Very cool.

Oh, I'm sorry for my late reply on this @old-guy-photos. I missed it. Yes, the artist did an incredible job. These were some of her first pieces, now she's doing much larger ones and they are even more elaborate.

Beauty-Full artwork and inspiring story :)

Thank you for sharing <3 Bright Blessings and Reiki Hugs!

Thank you @thereikiforest! You'd love her work. A lot of love gets infused into her stones. :)

It's nice when timing and motivation and all those things converge to make success stories like this. Repurposing the votive tray is a great idea!

Thanks @boxcarblue! My girl-friend has been making these pieces now for about 3 years and her story just keeps getting better and better. Painted stones are nothing new but her skills change the art-form completely. Imho, I think the repurposed tray for the stones work. ;)

I love this story of revived inspiration coming from a friend, nice!

Thank you @natureofbeing! I would bet that we have a high % of mavericks on Steemit who naturally want to share valuable information with others. It's so cool when skills match ideas and passion flares as a result.
In my world, that's pure magic. ;)

Great story. Networking artful ideas = From artist through catalyst @rebeccaryan to artist. Across our planet. Beautiful, creative and inspiring. Steem on.

Thank you for commenting @bilbop! In terms of our ability to network and connect ideas and skills, our world is actually quite small. I think it's very cool when these things just easily come into being. It's a honour to be part of the process. :)

Those are so pretty! I always enjoy seeing how people use natural material, like these rocks, for making art. It does take an eye to pick out just the right rock and turn it into something special. In the outdoors, there are things for us to use all around, for the folks who look! Enjoy your rocks! : )

Hi @haphazard-hstead! I thought you might like these pieces. These are all some of my friend's earlier pieces. I figured it out last week that this is her 3rd year, painting rocks in this way. She has developed a following and done some fabulous custom garden pieces. Some of the most beautiful are stone commemorating family pets that have passed. People grow special gardens or dedicate a segment of their garden to their pet and showcase it with the stone marker.

Those really are beautiful, and so unique. I first thought the stone was a sea urchin. But the colors gave it away. So nice you got her jump-started on this process. Very creative. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for commenting on this topic @ddschteinn! It does give us all a lift when we spend time doing things that we are passionate about. This gave her something new to put her energy into, using all the skills that she already had. It was great to be part of that excitement. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54