Oh Canada, Oh Summer

in #story6 years ago

CF84D875-C2CA-40FE-8047-52AEAA7DB136.jpeg

Nothing says Summer, like bringing a muscle car out of Winter storage.

This is a 1967 Chevelle SS (or Super Sport) with a 454.

Excessive amounts of salt and sand are used in many parts of Canada, during the winter months, on most roadways.

The salt is used to melt the ice and the sand is used to provide traction. This combination makes traveling by car or truck, a safer endeavour but is very hard on the vehicles themselves.

As a result, motorcycles and vehicles that are rare or that haven’t been engineered for winter driving, get put into storage for 6 months.

Usually they will be taken right off the road in October and put back on at the end of May.

Once the threat of black ice is gone.

If you don’t have space (yourself) to store your vehicle, you simply rent space from someone else who does.

The salt (in particular) is exceptionally corrosive and rusts metal very badly.

Most Canadians are lucky to get 10 years out of a body of a car or truck that is driven year round before rust holes are visible.

That makes older cars and trucks in Canada a rarer commodity.

Today I helped a friend pick this beauty up.

27AF8790-8B42-4E79-A0D3-3947F4DD91B2.jpeg

I insisted we listen to Little Duece Coup by The Beach Boys on the way.

Sometimes you just have to set the tone.

This was posted to YouTube by Aj D on March 25, 2009.

Bring on Summer and the sunshine.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey... I promise you that getting from A to B will be interesting. ;)

52865A34-004E-483F-B60F-1C2603CF64DD.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

That's a beautiful classic right there! My dad use to have a 1966 Chevelle SS with a 427 in it. He and I both wishes that he had kept it. I love Chevelles very much. My favorite models are 66, 69 and 72.

This one has been restored with a lot of respect and love, nice and straight, stock...see comments to @rigaronib (below). :)

This is GORGEOUS! I must admit, this year and body style has always been one of my favorite. I've lusted over quite a few and I've always secretly wanted a '67 SS with the 396 in it.

Hi @rigaronib,
This car has the 396 emblems on her, but the motor is a 454...kind of drives the owner crazy and we shall see what he decides to do about it. He is seriously talking about selling this year and he told me that he'd be happy to get 40 k (CAD) for it.
She's an "eye catcher" for sure with a throaty pur...sounds just like she should. LOL!

Niiiice. haha
The fact that she sounds just right is the cherry on top! :D

That's a handsome car. You can tell it's been treated well!

We live close to the ocean, so that's another reason I'd never buy a new car. What's the point? It's just going to be riddled with rust in a couple years anyway!

Hi @winstonalden!
Yes that's important to mention too...even worst because it's a year round assault.


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


Summer in Canada has a wonderful beauty
The car is distinctive and really nice
Well posted you are a really successful person

Thank you very much @roselover!

Thank you very much.

The summer is approaching. I hope you will enjoy your time in the coming months @rebeccaryan

During this period October to may biker can't enjoy their ride as those vehicle doesn't design to run on snow-ice, they just keep start engine once a time everyday to stop go dump the engine! A warm welcome summer with your red car.

If you donate 1 SBD or STEEM to @a-0-0 I will resteem your last post to over 72,500 followers on my 2 accounts @a-0-0 and @a-a-a

What a bad ass car!
I love that red!!!
Great stuff @rebeccaryan :D

beautiful color ..beautiful car...i loved red color car

I'm jealous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15