My Early Years of Teaching in the 242

in #story7 years ago

It was my first day teaching. I went to the school bright and early at 7:30 a.m. because it was nearby, with my briefcase loaded with papers and my brain full of ideas. The principal was already there; he lived in the school yard. He showed me my classroom and I headed the board and sat at my desk eagerly awaiting the arrival of my students. The bell rang at 9:00 a.m. and my students filed into the classroom and stood behind their desks. But something was wrong; I saw some big children and then I saw some little ones. Something was definitely wrong; I was not trained to teach little children.
“Be seated,” I blurted out and I immediately headed for the principal’s classroom. His students were all about the same size and age.
“Why am I teaching little children?” I earnestly enquired of him.
“I am not trained to teach them,” I said.
The principal then told me that I had to teach grades one to six because that was the arrangement. He said that he knew that I was good in mathematics so he would switch with me in the afternoons so that I could teach that subject to grades 7, 8 and 9. This comforted me a little and so I returned to my classroom and sat down dazed. All of the children were staring straight at me as if to say ,
“Come on Mr. Thompson get with the program and start to teach us.”
I was completely lost, confused and depressed. Reluctantly I took the register and then I placed some basic mathematics problems on the chalkboard to test them. Immediately a little student raised her hand and said,
“We don’t know how to do those things Mr. Thompson.”
I swiftly countered,
“Then write your numbers from one to twenty in your books grades one and two.”
My first day on the job had started and I knew I had to adapt fast to teaching 25 students from grades one to six in one classroom. None of my college training had ever prepared me for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68