Telling your kid the truth ~ THE RANT REEL with @ragequit [ EP. 7 ]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

It's not easy but it comes a time when he has to be told the truth. It's his right and his survival might one day depend on it.

The others decided that they won't tell their children, that the past must be forgotten, that we have enough problems as it is and we should focus on today, focus on the future. He has a right to know, he needs to make his own decision if he's going to own his world, build towards a better one or give up on it. I wouldn't blame him..

"Son, there's something you must know about the generation before you, the world you've inherited, the land you're walking. It's noon now, look around.."

now_dark.jpg

"It didn't always look like this. When I was about your age the skies were blue, the sun was shining bright, the water was so clean you could have drank it cold directly from the river and the land grew crops. The bright horizons were teeming with birds, the fields were full of insects that we used to hate back then.. I can't begin to tell you how much I miss them now.."

before_time.jpg

"We used to live in big houses, owned cars to travel these now broken roads, built machines to better our lives. We had society and rules, smiles on our faces, big family meals, traditions, gadgets, internet.. We build ships to fly and travel great distances, we even put people on the moon.. But you haven't seen the moon, or any of the tings from before and this is why I'm telling you all of this.."

ragequit_divider.png

"Society managed to pull through hard times. We had a big war back in the day, we called it World War 2 which showed us both how smart, strong and caring we can be but also how weak, corruptible, sick, greedy and evil."

"We discovered the power of the atom and we immediately started using it to destroy ourselves by building these devices that had the power to wipe out cities in the blink of an eye. We used a couple of them and many died, it was a tragedy, but the world understood right then and there that we must never touch those devices again."

darkest_hour.jpg

WE DID!









footer.png

Sort:  

Wow, there is a lot of emotion in this writing.

the fields were full of insects that we used to hate back then.. I can't begin to tell you how much I miss them now..

Powerful writing! Do you plan on continuing this piece? I think you could make a great series out of this.

Thanks for sharing!

I'm not completely sure I'm taking this exact piece any further, each episode of the rant reels series is usually its own thing. The reason for that is that I don't really get much feedback on my articles so I make sure that I'm having fun when I'm writing, that way I still feel like I got something out of it. The obvious downside with this is that subjects tend to be all over the place.

Thanks for reading and I'm glad you enjoy it! I might do one more of these just for you! :)

Well, you are pretty new on the site with a reputation of 41. It took me several months of consistent posting before I got much interaction and feedback from people. Then after my hiatus due to school I had to build most of that interaction back, and lost a good bit of it last week after a week long break in the woods lol. Consistency is key to gaining a following that gives consistent feedback. :)

Imo, a series like this would garner a lot of attention once it gained some tracking. Steemit has a strong focus on these types of ideas!

Regardless, the having fun bit is the most important aspect, I'm glad you're enjoying yourself!

I know that consistency is very important and maybe it is time I focus on one thing for a bit and see how it works out.

Thanks, I really appreciate you taking the time and the advice.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ragequit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56