Police Story #2.... KarmasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

karma-2.jpg

Afternoon guys,

This is my second story from my days of working on 999. Unlike my first one this one this one is short and sweet. Had me in stitches when I was on the call and still funny now as it doesn't make any sense. Maybe you can work it out and tell me! Enjoy...

So it was around two or three o'clock in the afternoon on a sunny summer's afternoon. There I was sitting at my desk staring out of one of the hundreds of windows our building had and wishing the day away. We've all been there dreaming about a lovely pint of cider in a beer garden etc. It was a pretty quiet day so the little beep in my ear actually woke me up!

The caller was a woman and just kept shouting "there's a fight!". I asked for a location and she was hysterical shouting the same thing again and then something about a phone being stolen from a lady. This call was fast going nowhere! I had to shout at her to calm down and she just ended up passing the phone on to someone else.

Now i'm chatting to a man, the first thing he comes on and says is "He's calling for police, can you get someone here?". He gave me the location thankfully and I dispatched a unit. I'd assumed the male calling for police was somehow linked to the female who's had her phone stolen.... I was wrong.

I asked him what was going on and he said a phone had been snatched and there was a man on the floor with a broken nose... I asked if this was due to the fight and if he could give me a description of the chap who gave the bloke a broken nose. He just said yes and passed the phone to someone else. At this point I was getting pissed off as I had a unit on it's way, I'd requested an ambulance and all I knew was that there was a lady who may have had a phone snatched, a male on the floor with a broken nose shouting for police, a suspect at large and I didn't have a description or direction of travel.

Luckily the chap he gave the phone to finally made sense of the whole incident... well 99% of it anyway. He was the security guard at a well known mobile phone company and advised me that the lady I was chatting to at the start of the call was in fact the victim of the phone snatch and the man she gave the phone to was her partner. He gave me the address etc and I thought, lovely it's all falling into place now.
I then asked him about the fight outside (I assumed this was two separate incidents). He was silent for a second or two then in a puzzled voice said "what fight?". I was like, the fight outside your store mate, there's a bloke there with a broken nose apparently shouting for police????

The guard cracked up. He said there's wasn't a fight and that the bloke with the broken nose was the suspect of the snatch! I asked who punched him etc. He told me no one did. Yes, I was as baffled as I am sure you are whilst reading this!

I asked him to tell me exactly what had happened and he said "Well the woman who called you was in the store with her partner looking for a new phone when a man ran in and snatched her phone out of her hand. He has run straight out the store and to the left but he looked back to see where I was as I shouted at him. He turned around again but the plonker didn't see the lamppost and ran straight into it breaking his nose! (HAHAHAHAHAHA)

I still have no clue til this day why he was shouting for the police and not an ambulance lol
Either way we was nicked and taken to A&E to sort out his nose before being taken to custody. Needless to say the officers were mugging him off the entire time. Karma!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47