You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shamanism X Religion X Archetypes

in #story7 years ago

That was a good read man! I was reading one of your old posts on Microdosing that was good as well. There definitely is s something to the collective unconscious in ancient myths theory that I find fascinating. I don't if you are familiar with Jordan Peterson, by hes put out lectures to youtube on the wisdom of myths that have made me reconsider the value of biblical and ancient mtyths. Particularlary the "belly of the whale archetype." However I think it can be easy to get to invested in these myths as truths. In a Podcast between the Peterson and Professor Biologist, Bert Weinstein he made a point that stuck in my head, "Is it possible that by recognizing that these traditions carry huge amounts of ancestral wisdom forward, but that wisdom is so incomplete that it doesn't answer to many modern problems, that we can be liberated to move forward and honor those traditions for bringing us here but to recognize that we have to move forward with something more potent and up to date."
I tend to agree more that myths are commonalities of the human exp rather than cosmic truths, it's a balancing act really. Anyway great post, This is part of the conversation I took quote from,

Sort:  

Thank a lot man ! Much appreciated.

Heard that podcast dude! Fascinating, intriguing stuff. This post came about as a synthesis from Jordan Peterson lectures, Stanislav Grof books and some history stuff from Breaking Convention. THey all talk about similar stuff and when you read all this, it gets nicely intertwined and is understandable.

Yea I think we have to take it for what it is and think about it with an open mind, talk about it and realize that we definitely do not know how the whole picture looks just yet. I totally agree that there is a possible danger in taking this stuff as the truth, the dot. Hell, how many cultures took these archetypes for gods?

Anyways I highly recommend Stanislav Grof and Breaking Convention ;) Good day to ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47