I HATE MY NAME

in #story6 years ago

MARGARETH____.png

I grew up thinking which parent named their kid Magreth, like why Margareth? Worse is when My African people Africanized it

it to;
Mage - Tanzania
Mega - Uganda
Maggie- Kenya.

I liked the Kenyan Version at least, and that's how i preferred to be called.

And then i came to the Philippines and it became Marrrggaaarreett. LOL. Do you feel my agony? It later changed to Meggy, and now its Meg, most of the times.

I have a friend who calls me anything that relates or sounds like my name, depending on the mood she is in. Meg, Marge, Margareth, Marjorie and many others that i cant remember right now. But i know she wants to discuss something serious when she says Margret. @cheft, i am talking about you.

A cousin once just said i will just call you Meghan, because people with that name are beautiful.. i have loved that name since then, I think i will give it to my baby girl in Future.

I hated it when i was young and contemplated on changing it, until my recent discoveries. I came to the realization that this name was given to me with good intentions and it came with a Beautiful coincidence.

THE STORY BEHIND MY NAME:
This name was given to me by my Uncle, Pr. Lameck, father's side. I got a chance to ask him two years ago How he came to the conclusion of naming me Margareth.
It turns out that there was this very loving Nurse who took very good care of my mother when she was in Labor and my uncle saw it as a meaningful gesture to name me after her.

Unknown to my Uncle, My maternal grand mother's name is Margareth, and of course she was elated upon hearing that i was given the same name. In her understanding, she thinks i was named after her, and that is how it has seemed like ever since. I love my grandmother so it's great to know that she is happy her first grand child was named after her.

Since my discovery, i am trying to make it a conscious decision to appreciate my name.

Another coincidence is that i ended up being a nurse too.

Sort:  

Lol your title is like flowers to bees.Every one flies in to your post for the nectar.Your name is beautiful Maggie.It could have been worse there are people with funny sounding names like Yolanda Squatpump,Tiny Cox,Rick Titball ,Fannie licker-all this are people's names for real.

@badmusgreene, i keep coming back to this comment as it makes me laugh, a whole lot. Lol. Please tellme some of those names are just made up by you coz Fannie licker can't be real, tiny cox? Lol.
You have made my week. Il keep coming back to this comment whenever i am down. 😂

Feel like to post. I think it's a great idea to post.

Mine is Josephine. It's old people names. Lol. Coming from Nigeria where there are over 250 ethnic groups and various tongues and it's ways of pronunciation, trust me when I say my name can be pronounced in 10 ways....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01