Do it yourself - DIY weekend project: Build a garten gate

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Feel free to post your own DIY projects under this tag. So here is my weekend project.

DIY - Do it yourself

The old garden fence offered no security at all. So it was time to take it down. Instead of spending much for a new one, and as I love to work with wood, I decided to build one myself. I looked forward to this challenging project.

It was time to do something about the lacking security this fence offered.

enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here

Taking down the old gate seemed like a matter of seconds. The wood was ailing badly. The thing already fell apart. What I did not consider is that that rust would complicate things.

enter image description here

As I decided to keep the concrete anchors I had to deal with many of rusty screws on the ground. Instead of a few minutes the "destruction part" took me many hours. I did not expect to use an angle grinder - but that was necessary.

enter image description here

I took measures beforehand and applied my upgrades to them. Then calculated how much wood I would need. After buying it, I was thrilled to start.

Oily primers and glazes for wood preservation needed to be used. To reduce the time length of such an outdoor wood project grab a two-in-one product (oily primer and glaze).

enter image description here

As I did not prepare the wood beforehand, I first used it solely on the contact points. As I did not want to spend hours waiting for it to dry and as I did not want to work with too many sticks parts.

enter image description here

I started with the frame first and then went over to fill it.

enter image description here

First on one side.
enter image description here

Next on the other.
enter image description here

Then the gate needed to be done. I wanted it to be way more massive and higher than the old one.

enter image description here

Without a battery-operated drill in this project I would of been lost. The drill is a necessary item to be able to get such a project done, as I used hundreds of screws.

enter image description here

After many hours working and sweating in the sun the fence stood and quite a bit of money was saved by "DIY".

enter image description here

enter image description here


Before
enter image description here

After
enter image description here


Before
enter image description here

After
enter image description here


DIY weekend projects are a good way to get something valuable done and to cross of a couple of "to do things" from our lists.

Who knows? It might inspire a makeover in the garden or in the house on a weekend for you?

Sort:  

great tutorial

Great! Glad you like it @gringalicious. I just turned into a fan of your recipes! Great work. That name does not come from nowhere ;). Thanks for your response!

Oh thank you, what a nice compliment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44