The Last Thousand Pieces (Original)

in #story7 years ago

giphy-25.gif

The first thousand pieces were of a younger me
and shone like dappled light through forest trees
they spun neither slow nor angrily
and reflected at me my family.

They were the pieces I understood least
They were the pieces that tore at my peace.

giphy-26.gif

The next thousand pieces were shorn for the war,
and sparkled with light from each foreign shore
each spun in hunger, with craving for more
and reflected at me all I abhor.

They the pieces that reflected my shame
They the shards of the catalyst of change.

giphy-27.gif

The third thousand pieces broke off in song
their shine fought the dark with brightness so strong
They spun in musics, their notes peeling long
and reflected at me my lost folk-songs

They were the pieces that covered the path
They were the pieces that cut up my feet.

giphy-28.gif

The fourth thousand pieces tore off in love
Just floated away like a dule of doves
they spun languidly like liquid on stone
and reflected at me my first true home

They were the pieces that structured my heart
They are the fragments that light my soul still.

giphy-29.gif

The last thousand pieces are only mine
to smash on the ground, to hide or consign,
wear on my arms like a bevy of knives
They'll reflect at me my self-stolen life.

They'll be the pieces I understand least
They'll be the pieces I love most.



@prufarchy

Cover photo.png

Sort:  

i must say i really love words you use like these lines
The third thousand pieces broke off in song
their shine fought the dark with brightness so strong

man you got a new follower 😍

There's nothing better than sharing resonance, I'm glad you found some here :) Thanks for being here

you are most welcome keep posting good things 😍 good words 😍

I love this poem and the way it explains the various stages of life and what they mean to the poet persona. Very great post, and I can quite relate

Thank you for your comment, I'm grateful for your perspective and relation :)

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I really enjoy your story. .thanks for sharing @prufarchy steem on.!

Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63