It's The Waiting (Original)

in #story7 years ago

negative-space-underground-subway-train-tunnel-andre-benz-thumb-1.jpg

We have waited on trains all our lives,
have dragged lazily along gritty subway tracks
bucking and leaning with every screeching start and stop

"Next stop 125th, stand clear of the closing doors"
is the kind of advice you'd pay to receive
if you understood the message

We are always making room,
turning sideways and squeezing into a ball
to roll on to our destinations

negative-space-train-station-night-fog-robin-rocker-thumb-1.jpg

If we could measure the time we spend,
on platforms, on trains, waiting,
we'd find centuries where our eyes should be and decades in our thoughts.

And to this cold truth strengthened by the season
we can only raise our hands, grab the support
and wait until the train takes us home

Then we will wait once more, for the morning,
for the coffee and news and slices of orange,
until it is time to wait for trains again


Thank you for spending time here.

@prufarchy

Images Sourced from Negativespace

Sort:  

I always love your poetry. Another good one.

I sincerely appreciate that @kryptik I love sharing my inner thoughts exclusively with our community on Steemit

I love this line!

""Next stop 125th, stand clear of the closing doors"
is the kind of advice you'd pay to receive
if you understood the message"

It really got me thinking. Great work.

That's awesome, what do you think is the message? ;)

I took some liberty with my interpretation. I saw 125th as a status symbol characterizing success. Sort of like saying "I made it to Broadway, or Wall St." I saw the warning about closing doors to be a metaphor for missed opportunities.

I don't know why I didn't get around to responding here, but I like your interpretation a lot.

For me it was always a kind of reminder that things are always changing, train doors gotta close to get to the next stop, with or without us.

Thank you for circling back after all this time. I actually think of this poem often. I can't say I always remember the whole thing, but I remember the part I quoted. It makes me consider whatever is going on in a different light.

Life teaches us that the waiting (journey) is more rewarding than the destination. As long as Envy is taken out of the equation it's the planning, anticipating and working towards a goal that makes life interesting.

I'd be hard pressed to find the reward in a NYC subway heading from 175th to World Trade, but I agree that the macro journey and all its features makes life interesting.

Though the subwaiting has spawned a number of poems over the year

really enjoyed this, i like how you broke the poetry up with a couple of images too.

Thanks @satchmo I feel like the images can help add flavor to the overall piece, so I'm glad you liked it!

Love the poetry - Love the images as well!

I appreciate your kind words :)

I'm daydreaming while waiting...

You are a daydream, wonderful human ;)

Well, this piece of poetry makes my day. Thanks!

Any chance I get to be a part of anyone's day is a win for me! Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment.

UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks.

@prufarchy Posting a simple but very interesting time read and very beautiful photos that are in his posting is very perfect I @ dianclasher from Indonesia very happy and proud to know and visit your blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97