Digital Commute (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago

There's a ranting man inside it seems
And he's yelling that it's all digital,
Yeah his voice, it sure sounds real to me
But if I were data, how would I know?

He's wearing dark rags and bright tennis shoes
And he hasn't demanded a dime,
I think what would digital Jesus do,
So I settle down and open my mind.

In the quiet a fire burns lazily
Igniting thoughts I'd not meant to find
So I'll keep paddling until I feel free
Though it's a hell of a way to unwind.

The story, the ranting man says to me,
Is that everyone's turned into stone.
There's no desire to simply be
When someone's got a bigger home.

But if they could see the shine and gleam
Then surely what they chase is real,
Forget what is for what it seems
And accept that devil's easy deal

The ranting man said we'd lose ourselves
In longing for these digital dreams.
We'd store our whole lives up on the shelf
In courting ends to justify means.

After listening, I went to think
And watch the programmed waves ebb and flow.
As it went, I still found I could link
The digital world to what I don't know.



Gifs sourced from GIPHY
words sourced from the heart.

Thank you for spending time here

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen & Upvoted by the Poetry-Trail of the Steemtrail Community.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.

Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82