Human of DMC # 1

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Medical story of my friend

She is a Students from english medium schools rarely come to medical colleges to study. For example - From my school Mastermind I'm the only person who's currently studying at DMC. Actually the exam system is structured in such a way that it's very hard for english medium students to top the list. In addition to that,medical colleges are seldom in our priority list. We either choose to study abroad or target IBA. My first choice was IBA too, but it was my mother's long cherished wish to see me as a doctor as she herself was one. For her I decided to give it a try. I enrolled in admission coaching, bought intermediate level books too. I read them in Bangla as the english notes were quite horrible. I can't describe how it was reading them in Bangla. Like I never knew that cockroaches were also called "আরশোলা" before reading the intermediate biology book. I had to complete the syllabus in less than four months whereas others got two whole years for the job. And it was in such a language in which I wasn't accustomed to study or to give exams. Despite it all, I continued keeping my mother's wish in mind. The day on which the result was published, she hugged me and broke into tears. I guess the happiness of finally fulfilling her desire surpassed my own personal achievement of making it to DMC.
Naturally it took a while to adapt to this new environment. I was like a completely different species among my classmates. But my batchmates are very amiable, so it didn't take long to befriend them. The teachers here are outstanding as well, they've always supported me. It was their drive and inspiration that helped me achieve first place in the first professional examination.
My experiences of giving viva exams are quite humorous. Teachers are always amused when they hear about my english medium background. Many ask if it's english version from where I'm from, some would ask if I'm a second timer. Gossiping on this topic consumes a lot of time no doubt. But it has to be said that the scenario here is quite different from what I was used to back at school. Like in my school no one cared about what others said or did, everyone minded their own business. But here no matter what you do everyone will judge you. Then the educational system here is somewhat based on memorizing. But during my O levels and A levels, we focused on problem based learning rather than memorizing. Actually this is what university life looks like, as you keep busy comparing what you've gained or not, it comes to an end before you even realizing it.
Maisha Maliha
DMC K-72

27356266_1970597203192727_8209352374100713770_o.jpg

Bengali translation

ইংলিশ মিডিয়াম স্কুল থেকে খুব বেশি মানুষ মেডিকেলে পড়তে আসেনা। যেমন আমার স্কুল মাস্টারমাইন্ড থেকে আমার জানামতে আমিই একমাত্র স্টুডেন্ট যে ঢাকা মেডিকেলে পড়ছি। আসলে মেডিকেল ভর্তি পরীক্ষার পদ্ধতিটাই এমন যে ইংলিশ মিডিয়াম থেকে এখানে উপরের দিকে চান্স পাওয়াটা বেশ কঠিন। এছাড়া মেডিকেল যে আমাদের পছন্দের তালিকায় থাকে তাও না। আমরা হয় বিদেশে চলে যাই, অথবা আইবিএর জন্য চেষ্টা করি। আমারও প্রথম পছন্দ ছিল আইবিএ,কিন্তু আমার মা নিজে ডাক্তার হওয়ায় প্রবল ইচ্ছা ছিল যে আমাকেও ডাক্তার বানাবেন। মার মন রাখতেই ভাবলাম যে চেষ্টা করে দেখতে দোষ কি। ভর্তি কোচিং করা শুরু করলাম,ইন্টারমিডিয়েটের বই ও কিনলাম। ইংলিশ নোটগুলো ভাল না হওয়ায় বাংলা বই পড়তাম। বাংলা বই পড়তে যেয়ে যে কি অসুবিধা হয়েছে তা বলে বোঝাতে পারবো না। যেমন তেলাপোলার আরেকটা নাম যে “আরশোলা”-তা আমি ইন্টারের বায়োলজি বই পড়ে প্রথম জানতে পারি,আগে কখনো শুনিই নি। অন্যরা যেই সিলেবাস দুই বছর পড়েছে,তা আমাকে পড়তে হয়েছে চার মাসেরও কম সময়ে। তাও এমন একটা ভাষায়,যাতে আমি পড়ে বা পরীক্ষা দিয়ে অভ্যস্ত নই। এত সমস্যার মাঝেও মার কথা চিন্তা করে পড়ে যেতাম। রেসাল্টের দিন মা আমাকে জড়িয়ে ধরে কেঁদে ফেলেছিলেন। মার ইচ্ছা পূরণ করতে পেরেছি,এই আনন্দটা চান্স পাওয়ার চাইতেও বেশি ছিল।
স্বাভাবিকভাবেই ডিএমসি আসার পর মানিয়ে নিতে বেশ বেগ পেতে হয়েছে। আমার সব ক্লাসমেটদের মধ্যে আমি যেন সম্পূর্ণ ভিন্ন এক প্রজাতি। তবে আমার ব্যাচের মানুষজন খুবই বন্ধুভাবাপন্ন,তাই বন্ধু খুঁজে পেতে খুব একটা দেরি হয়নি। এখানকার টিচাররাও অসাধারণ, সবসময় আমাকে সাহায্য করেছেন। আমি বলবো ওনাদের চেষ্টা আর উৎসাহের কারণেই আমি ফার্স্ট প্রফে ফার্স্ট হতে পেরেছি।
আমার ভাইভা দেয়ার অভিজ্ঞতা সবসময়ই বেশ মজার হয়। ইংলিশ মিডিয়াম শুনলেই টিচাররা বেশ অবাক হন। অনেকেই জিজ্ঞেস করেন আমি আসলে ইংলিশ ভার্সন নাকি, কেউ কেউ জিজ্ঞেস করেন সেকেন্ড টাইম নাকি। এই বিষয়ে গল্প করতে করতেই অনেকটা সময় চলে যায়। তবে হ্যাঁ এটা বলতেই হবে এখানকার পরিবেশ আমার স্কুল কলেজের পরিবেশ থেকে অনেকটাই ভিন্ন। যেমন স্কুলে থাকতে কে কি করলো বা বললো তা নিয়ে কেউ মাথা ঘামাতো না,যে যার নিজের মত থাকতো। কিন্তু এখানে ব্যাপারটা তা না, তোমার সকল কর্মকাণ্ডেই সবাই কিছু না কিছু মনে করবে। আবার এখানকার পড়াশোনা অনেকটাই মুখস্থ নির্ভর। কিন্তু ও লেভেল বা এ লেভেলে প্রায় কিছুই মুখস্থ করতে হত না, অনেকটা প্রবলেম বেসড লার্নিং ছিল। আসলে ভার্সিটি লাইফটা এমনই, প্রাপ্তি আর অপ্রাপ্তির হিসাব মিলাতে মিলাতেই কখন যেন ফুরিয়ে যায়।

Sort:  

This post has received a 2.33 % upvote, thanks to: @dedicatedjaved.

You got a 2.02% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @dedicatedjaved!

This post has received a 5.13% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @dedicatedjaved. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

You got a 0.62% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @dedicatedjaved!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39