Funny tales my mum told me as a kid...

in #story6 years ago

Big ups to @sankofa for the idea behind their recent contest. I am not particularly going to join the contest but I'm so much interested in sharing my own story about funny tales our parents told us as kids.

My late mom was a wise woman. Apart from having her way with words and being good with words, she had a way of making one do what she wanted.

_20180512_081820.JPG
Pixabay image
Anyways there were several tales my mom used to instil fear and discipline then. My dad had his too but I will share three of mum's tales in this article.

First

I had a bad habit of opening my teeth unconsciously as a kid, it was gradually becoming an issue so mum decided she wasn't going to allow me disfigure myself. One day, she called me and said 'do you know that opening your mouth always can make your teeth begin to shoot out ? You will become ugly" . Then a woman lived down the street, she had terrible dentition and scattered teeth really shooting out in an awkward manner. Mum made it a point of duty to remind me that i will become like that if I continued, that of course worked the magic.

Secondly

While growing up, I hated heat so much so I loved to bare my chest mot minding of anyone was looking. I probably thought if boys could do it, why can't I. So when I started growing little stumps on my chest, mum certainly was no longer comfortable, she came up with another scary tale.

Mum told me there was this big bird that usually loves to see the chest of little young girls and their budding breasts. She said the bird will just fly down, and chop of the tip of the breast and thats the end. Believe me when I tell you that settled the matter.
_20180512_081837.JPG
Pixabay image

Third

I know that for certain people, their mothers probably told them if a man should touch them they will get pregnant. My own case was different. Mum will calk me and say " close your eyes tight.. do you see anything? (after my response) she will continue " open it.... If you allow a man touch you and mess you up, you will probably get pregnant, abort and you will die. When you die everything goes black , you see nobody....thats the end....you can go back to your room"....... Most times I remain rooted to the spot, wondering what kind of a woman I have as a mother.

But honestly, those tales worked. There are a few more..I could share another day.

Sort:  

It is amazing the horror stories that our mothers told us to keep us out of trouble...

Yes.....ma'am
Almost every parent conjured stories

The first paragraph was common amongst many. For the second paragraph which i boldened which is your own true story which worked is actually the first time i reading and seeing such but permit me to say that i drew inspiration from them.

Thanks to mummy for that. Those lesson have molded you to the woman you are today.

I fell in love with your name when i listened to it as music by adekunle gold.

I know that for certain people, their mothers probably told them if a man should touch them they will get pregnant.

My own case was different. Mum will calk me and say " close your eyes tight.. do you see anything? (after my response) she will continue " open it.... If you allow a man touch you and mess you up, you will probably get pregnant, abort and you will die. When you die everything goes black , you see nobody....thats the end....you can go back to your room"....... Most times I remain rooted to the spot, wondering what kind of a woman I have as a mother.

Thanks for sharing this wonderful piece my @steemnaira sister @ponmile

I am me @brightfame

Awwwww....
Thank you @brightfame
I appreciate you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86