The short story of how I became a SAAB enthusiast - PART 3

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Rally dreams

My SAAB No. 4 was a cheap car with a 2 stroke engine: Model year 1965, the one often called "Longnose" (prepared for the larger engine). That car became my everyday use car during my time in military service, and continued to be for some time after.


My No. 4, a SAAB -96 with 2 stroke engine (a longnose).

SAAB No. 5 was exactly the same, which became mine through a swap deal. I had exchanged my rally car for another car (not SAAB) and then swaped it for the SAAB No. 5, wich I later sold because I did not need two cars. (Remember, I already had a car since before)
SAAB No. 6 was a V4 model year 1970, used mostly private, exept for a few rallies .
SAAB No. 7 was "99," the 1972 model for private use.

 The SAAB 96, with V4, model year 1970

Later I bought SAAB No. 8 without a motor, otherwise equipped for rallies. I managed to buy an engine that was tuned by SAAB's competition department. A real monster engine ,90 hp. I used it in some rallies it, but there were quite a lot of problems.  A fire in the electric systemet and some other issues. A brake pipe broke at a competition and we crashed in the forest ! The car was quite damaged, so I sold it.

 SAAB 96 with 2 stroke engine, model year 1965 (another longnose), during a rally outside of Norrköping

SAAB No. 9 was another rally car.. A " V4" of model year 1967. It was probably pretty worn out and caused a lot of problems. After much hard work with it, I got tired and sold it. About then my rally dreams were ending.

That’s all for today ! Be careful out there !

Only fly
low and slow  ---  may the blue smoke be with you !  

Sort:  

Hey, that car isn't a beauty but it looks trustworthy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33