The short story of how I became a SAAB enthusiast - PART 2

in #story7 years ago

The Longnose and military duty

My SAAB No. 2 was of the 1967 model. The "96" with V4 engine.

Saab now used engines from Ford in parallel with their own manufactured three-cylinder two-stroke engine. This car used basically the same body as had come out in 1960 when it received model designation 96, except for a little longer front section (also known as a "Longnose"). It was introduced in 1965 and was a preparation for a larger engine. 

This, my No. 2, was a standard car for my everyday use, for work and leisure time, which was to go around and look at rallies.

SAAB No. 3 was a rally car in the 1968 model, red and with the equipment required for competition use. V4 engine tuned to 100 hp. Now I would compete! But a call to military duty (training) meant that plans had to change.

At the time, a lot of people used their rally car in their everyday life! But with a tuned engine and lower gearing, I realized that it would cost too much to drive it every day. So I sold it to a friend, who competed successfully with it.



The rally car I owned, my SAAB No. 3


That’s all for today! Be careful out there !

Only fly low and slow --- may the blue smoke be with you ! 

Sort:  

Nice!
Here's a picture of a Saab 96 (later model) for your collection.

Thank you för the picture! In what country is it ?

The Netherlands.

Thank you, but too far away for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23