The wait

in #story7 years ago (edited)

The wait was endless, I paced. I sat. I stood. I wanted to do all things and nothing at same time.
I was hot, thirsty, and most worrisome of all terrified.
This coming encounter awakened anxieties and fears which I never knew existed.
Credit
image


Yet I knew that day would come, I thought I had planned and prepared for it. Why am I this anxious? Because I was not sure I was ready. I, the person who was supposed to be strong and immovable, was reduced to this helpless mess.
What if it went wrong and I was not up for it? This was going to be the most important meeting of my life. I could not afford to a wrong move on this one. My wife was counting on me.
"You will be perfect, it would turn out ok." She told me.

But the nearer the moment approached, the more I doubted it. I was not at all sure I had the qualities for the role I would have to take.


The more time passed, the more I plunged into my delirium and my fears. I did not even hear the people around me. I could no longer see the comings and goings of those, often in a hurry, who surrounded me.


As I felt on the verge of going crazy with worry, I heard a cry. A powerful, penetrating cry, which immediately pulled me out of my daydreams.
The time had come. I had no choice now. Fleeing was impossible and anyway, I did not consider it. Not really...
A lady in white approached me and introduced me to whom I was so apprehensive for the coming. The words "a handsome boy" made their way to my numb brain.
Then, finally, my eyes met my newborn son. And then, as if by magic, all my fears flew away. My fear, which was however so engaging, suddenly appeared insignificant, laughable.
I took my son in my arms and for the first time in my life, I knew that if I were not perfect, I would be the one this child, my child, would need. I will be his father and it was now in my eyes, the only thing that counted.

Credit

image


Badge made by @ambmicheal
Footer kindly made for me by @rituparnaghosh
Sort:  

This is beautifully written, I think you would make an awesome writer. I like the way it ended too. You are an awesome writer. Well done

My awesome mentor @greenrun its a pleasure to have you on my blog.

You, my friend, is also awesome in your own way too. I like how you weave your plot like a veteran craft man making an awesome basket. Hehehe

😂😂😂 its ok...ride on....flatter me...
Let me enjoy it while i can🤗🤗🤗

It's not flattery if it's true. This is good.

Thanks boss!

This is awesome. Well compose . Nice worl

You know how to put the words together and your command of attention is subtle, yet sure. Keep steeming. Resteemed.

Thanks for the resteem
Im glad you read my post

Apparently, my resteemed didn't post. I will try again through budy

Its alright @churchboy i appreciate your effort

Congratulations @phunke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wooow, i think i need to read over like 3more time to cram everything word for word..

You are such a good writer... Keep up the good work...

Lol thanks alot im glad you like it

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Thank you. That will be a pleasure for me

You are an awesome writer. I should learn from you. The wait is worth it.

Yea it sure was thank you im also learning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43