Visionaries --A True Tale of Religion and Mystery #13

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is the story of an event that happened in a catholic school in Nigeria, events which I witnessed and was a part of, and which have never been resolved till date. Names have been changed, but the tale is true, and told as I remember it.

Click for
Part 1

Part 12

DQmPwzYfJjmRwfsrfceeH54qsDiGTWHiA8nmnqD4AunJ1wc_1680x8400.jpg

2:42pm

I stared at Amadi in shock, heart racing. What was he saying? Egbuonu was there? He could see him?

When the news had come that Egbuonu had passed away, I’d cried almost non-stop for a week. It was the most painful event that had ever happened to me at that time –the passing away of one of my best friends. And it had been even more saddening than it would have been if it had been another person who had passed, for one fact. Egbuonu was good. Of all my classmates, he alone had remained largely uncorrupted by the rebellious nature of most teenagers against rules and regulations. He had been kind, generous, patient and forgiving, never once responding to the many, many mocking his behaviour attracted from the entire school. Until he’d gone, we hadn’t appreciated him. Ihadn’t appreciated him, though we had been close. I missed him terribly.

And now, Amadi was saying he could see him in Heaven. Despite myself, I realised I was extremely relieved. If he was there, then he wasn’t in the other place.

“He’s coming towards me,” Amadi said now. His eyes were still closed. I leaned forward eagerly, no longer writing, and moved into a crouch beside the chair. I wanted to hear what Egbuonu would tell him.

“How does he look?” Igwe prompted. “What is he wearing?”

“He looks so happy,” Amadi reported. “He’s in a suit and tie. He’s here now –he’s asking about the school and the students, and his classmates.”

I held my breath.

Igwe’s eyes flickered up to mine for a second. “Tell him they are fine,” he said. “Tell him Ogwara is here.”

Amadi nodded. Or rather, he jerkily moved his head up and down. “Yes, yes. He says to tell you that he is okay and he is happy, and you should not feel sad for him anymore. He says you guys should keep going, and you should try very hard... because Heaven is real, but Hell is too. He loves you all, and you should never stop praying – especially you, Ogwara.”

I let out something between a laugh, a gasp and a sob, and nodded. I glanced up and glanced up and realised Igwe and the juniors had shifted their gazes to me. I had almost forgotten they were there.

Igwe turned back to Amadi. “What’s happening now?”

“He’s going back to the choir,” Amadi replied. “I’m leaving the hall – I’m going back – I can see the gate again – I’m going through...”

He trailed off and fell silent. The only sounds in the room were the juniors’ excited breaths.

“Amadi?” Igwe called, softly but strongly. “Amadi?”

Amadi opened his eyes and looked around, disoriented. His breathing was ragged and laboured. His face was covered in sweat.

“It’s okay,” Igwe told him, putting his hands on his shoulder. “It’s okay. You’re back.”

Slowly, Amadi focused on him, and then glanced up at the rest of us.”

“How was it?” Igwe asked.

Amadi turned back to him. “It’s real. It’s actually real,” he said. Shock, incredulity and disbelief were etched on his face. “I’ve – I’ve never experienced anything like this before. I didn’t think it was really true!” He stood his head and wiped off the sweat from his forehead. “Please, no one should talk to me just right now. I need to bathe, sleep, and clear my head.”

As he stood up to leave, I picked up my book and pencil, and caught Igwe’s eyes. I nodded. I had seen enough.


Watch Here for Visionaries #14

If you liked the story, don't forget to leave an UPVOTE! Comments are welcome, and RESTEEMS will be highly appreciated!
Follow me @petermarie

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62516.71
ETH 2436.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65