Friendship Fries

in #story8 years ago

I had a friend who lived up the road a ways. There was a highway between us or it would have been a nice walk. I would head to her house on sunny days and stand in her kitchen while she peeled potatoes and cut them in fat sticks. She left them in the sink in a colander for an hour while we chatted and drank tea, then she dropped them in a pan of oil that bubbled around them until they turned golden.

She eschewed ketchup, calling it "barbarian food," and she swore by some type of salt that was not salt. I can never remember the name of it, but it did the trick without raising her blood pressure.

We sat at a table on her covered porch at ate the fries one by one from a shared dish. It was a type of utopia. There were never mosquitos or flies and there was always plenty of sugar in the tea. The days were warm, the sun was bright, the birds sang and we feasted heartily on starches.

I never make my own french fries. I buy them in freezer bags at the grocery store and plunk them into my deep fryer for five minutes. They don't taste as good. I can't figure out if it's the friendship that's missing or it's an issues of freshness that detracts from their flavor. By rights any fried food should taste divine.

Perhaps today is the day I dive deep into nostalgia. Peel potatoes over the sink and divide each whole into slices. Brew the tea and sit at a window to dine mosquito free with a joyful view of history.

images via pixabay.com

Sort:  

This again? Whales jumping on super basic posts like this? And the usual suspect honeyscribe/perspective? Like c'mon... at least you could start this all over with someone else...

If you feel it is. Poetry has fluid boundaries. I wrote it as a bit of mini-memoir.

Homemade chips are the best, sharing them with a friend is the key :)

Sharing truly does increase the bounty of every gift.

Good story! My kids favorite dish is French fries.

Thank you! I find them an excellent comfort food. Especially on those days I find myself wandering memory lane.

Awesomely delicious and warm post :D
Brings back some good memories from my childhood.

Thank you. I'm happy to hear it.

This is a proud moment for Steemit. I can see the prices going up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40