Steemit What!

in #story6 years ago

A lot have been said about this platform, that it is awesome and great.

So much good and generous words have been said over the past week, when a friend told me of this supposed Goldmine called steemit- her brother had made some dough recently. I said to my self- where have i been all these time? I am been left behind o must join now surely.surprise_woman.png

brimful with optimism, and with hopes of success as high as the heavens themselves, I speedily, I took my machine, typed steemit.com , and jumped to the sign up button.

Visibly filled with excitement, I called my best pal, these were my exact words: man, the way forward is not betting anymore, its steemit- a platform where you can express yourself, write content and get paid- whether spetacular or not-I have seen some less than spectacular stories with some good amount of dollars at the bottom left corner of the post.

can you imagine that? It sounded too good to be true. But as I lounge into the steemit home page where the trending stories resides, I soon began to see some tell tale clue. that this might actually be true. as good as they say it was surely.

there were hundreds of dollars at the end of each posts, This is going to interesting i said to myself, very interesting and awesome. may have found it at last, your word worth something was boldly written of steemit home page. This was a clear reassurance. It is as good as they say.

As I made my first registation attempt, I soon quickly got frustrated, as steemit has a rather different way of accepting new members , I was required to wait for my email to be verified; It was a long wait indeed, as I felt rather unfortunate to arrive late at the scene- as it was relatively easy and straightforward process for the early comers.

As each day passed by, I felt more and more agitated; I was loosing money. And the saying Time is money makes more sense to me now than ever.

I should be making steemit a fortress as I believed that I had what It takes to succeed in this genereous platform. A gold mine; I could smell the rose.

The wait lasted longer than I thought. It took more that 10 days for steemit to send me a mail. ten long days of waiting. But at last the wait is over after all . Itime to start balling. start racking up the steem dollars.

The optimism was fleeting, It wasn't long when frustration and disillusion began to set in; I was swarmed by the manifold of concepts in steemit. concepts that were alien to me were flying around everywhere. People where talking about cryptocurrencies as if it was a second language to everyone in the platform- I never really showed any interest in cryptocurrency in the past.

Now it appears that i am the only one apparently ignorant of crypto currency in the platform and now its a benchmark for success in here. The workings of steemit was never a walk in the park. There are things like steem power, steem build, steem everything that there is.

I had to cut my induction process short, without spending more time trying to grapple with the many and tiresome concepts in steemit, I pitched in, and wrote a story which i posted.

It was a good story by my standard and was sure of certain level if success- The upvote will rake I said to my self. But It wasn't that simple afteral, I obviously needed to do more to achieve success here. It will be another learning curve altogether. The figures I used to see at the bottom left corner of posts were all farce I quickly concluded. Nothing good comes easy in the end and steemit is no different. All the hype, all the emotions all the optimism remain what they are -The wishful thinking of a man looking for pasture green.sad-man.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87