You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inside The Mind of War - Part 1 (My Original Short Stories)

in #story7 years ago

Well that escalated quickly towards the end, but rightfully so. You sure know how to write man, I always loved your attention to detail, have you seen my new contest? I'll be holding it weekly on my @verbal-d account, it would be cool to see you, @jedau and @dreemit make an entry. I could definitely feel the PSTD settling into the peaceful environment of the family home. I have a really good friend who came back from the Marines and now he refers to all of us normal folk as civilians, armed or unarmed . The combat situations really warp the mind into a fight or flight mode, and I can understand his protectiveness of the very thing that kept him alive. It is indeed a heavy and complex matter for the family to deal with. You mapped it all out so beautifully.

Sort:  

Bless, my bro! it's comments like these that show me I'm proceeding down the right path. Thanks a lot, really. PSTD is a scary and very real phenomena that you have seen first hand through your friend's new mindset. You can't blame them as they themselves are also victims to witnessing the horrors of war. Really loved writing this one, bud.

Man, this contest sounds intriguing! I'll be sure to check it out. Thank you, my awesome brother! :)

Yeah PSTD is certainly serious and I take that into consideration for sure when speaking with him and treating it delicately. It can warp one's perspective and make them never feel safe and always on edge. I can tell you really enjoy this one, it shows and it is very exciting to read.

Looking forward to your entry to the contest!

Defo, bro. I had a friend who spent 5 years in "army service", not even an actual warzone. And even he returned a different person. Cold and hardened to the stresses and worries of regular civilians. Not as drastic a change as in the case of war vets but still a stark contrast to the innocent boy that left his home three years ago. Bless, my brother! Thank you! :)

Yeah, I know he has experienced some life altering situations for sure, even just being in the service is a psychological rebuilding system. You're most welcome bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35