mexican nerds

in #story6 years ago

Nerds Lucha Grande
made in the USA
found in rural Mexican gas stations

These nerds are the best! I recently found some stashed in one of my travel bags and decided to blog about how delicious they are. When I was searching to see if anyone else felt the same way I discovered that they actually won a prize at the largest candy convention in the world; The Sweets and Snacks Expo for 2017. These delicious sweet and crunchy snacks won the “Most innovative New Product Award”. So, evidently, a lot of really important candy snobs were just as thrilled about this candy as I am!

This flavor filled candy was inspired by the Mexican wrestler tradition of Lucha Libre where the masked “Luchadores” wrestlers compete. This tradition is unique to Mexican culture and a source of national pride for many.

The illustrations of the nerd characters on the candy packaging are normally cute and smiley. But in this flavor edition they are featured as fearsome and aggressive masked wrestlers!
The Flavors are equally as fierce and in an apparent wrestling competition on the box. The winning flavor, and my personal flavorite is Guava vs. Mango Chile. The “luchadores names are respectively Guayaba solitaria and El Mango Fuego! (Solitary Guava vs. Mango Fire). If the competition was happening in my mouth, it is quite difficult to chose a clear winner.

I stumbled across this delicious candy in a gas station in La Ventana Mexico while on a kite trip there. I have not seen this flavor sold in the USA, although you can order it easily online.

Sort:  

Cool guys, they always bring a smile on my face because they make life seem easy sometimes. thanks for the great post @ourdailypost.

Funny to know they made an edition of "lucha libre" and they are easy to get in mexican gas stations. I haven't tried them yet but I know it's flavor is awesome. Good to know they won at the largest candy convention, who doesn't love mango and guava?

Nice content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49