You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What you need to know about alchemy

in #story7 years ago

Great post! It's wonderful to see a fellow steemian posting about alchemy. It is a noble and beautiful art that is making its way into the collective conscious. I have personally taken a deep interest in alchemy over the years and experience it's effects every single waking day.

I dabble in traditional laboratory alchemy, but my main focus is utilizing music as a lens through which to carry out my personal Great Work.

I've come to realize the principles of alchemy can be applied to any creative discipline, and doing so seems to reliably bring about a deepened relationship to our craft. The transformative qualities of such a practice are extremely palpable as well.

It is my belief that we are standing at the threshold of a sort of alchemical revival, and I'm playing my part largely in the context of music.

It's no accident that a music producers primary tool is called a "synthesizer."

The medium may be different, but the work is the same.

Thanks again for playing your part ;)

Sort:  

It will be very interesting to me to hear you music. Where can I find it? :)

We launched our first Audio Alchemy community compilation this month. I don't personally have a tune on it as I got the flu and missed the release deadline, but I did the artwork which has much of our philosophy encoded in it. @Hedflux is the name of the artist who i co-founded @audioalchemy with and you can hear his tune on the release. Listen here: https://audioalchemyrecords.bandcamp.com/album/audio-alchemy-vol-1

If you're interested in learning more about our philosophy and approach, here's a post about the alchemical revival in music: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@audioalchemy/the-alchemical-revival-in-music

Would love to hear what you think!

Enjoy :)

I hear the first song. It have interesting elements in it. Just to have more time and will hear and the others :) Have you heard "Coil"? I think this group have been going really deep in that stuff.

Thanks for the link - never heard of them! Very interesting soundscapes indeed :)

Ah, and here's another thing you can check out. This is a live DJ set that I performed which goes through the 7 stages of alchemical transformation. The setting was at an "ecstatic dance" here in Hawaii for a crowd of about 300 people. In ecstatic dance, there is a no-talking agreement on the dancefloor, so that everyone can fully immerse themselves in the music and deeply explore their internal landscape without interruption or chatter.

After the dance, I had multiple people share with me that it was one of the most life-changing experiences of their lives. That's the alchemy at work :)

Here's the recording: https://soundcloud.com/opulencehawaii/native-aquarian

The second one is really fantastic. Can you tell me how I can learn more about the symbiosis between alchemy and music. How does the tone affect the unconscious, is it purely experimental, or does it have certain theories?

We've done a lot of exploration about frequency and tone, and have used the law of coorespondences, geometry and mathematics to begin unearthing the roots of sound. If you're interested in digging deeper, a good place to start is our steemit intro post: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@audioalchemy/the-alchemical-revival-in-music

Then I would recommend watching the recordings of a 9 part webinar series we recorded a couple months ago. We go through the entire audio alchemy philosophy and our distilled wisdom regarding how to create alchemical music. You can access those for free here: https://audioalchemy.io/webinars

Do you play any instruments or make music at all?

Yes I really want to explore this. :)

I have music band, we are a little mystic but we have more industrial elements in us. Here you can hear what we play it will be interesting to know what you thing. This album we make it as a trip but don't know if you hear it that way because the language is not english :)

I play piano and guitar, but I use them as a tool, intuitive, dont have the skill's to play like professional

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54384.85
ETH 2275.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33