My Town: Part 3 ~ Eyebrows, shopping, and the graveyard

in #story7 years ago

              

Yesterday was busy, to say the least. I live in South Africa and I am featuring some photos in and around my town, Newcastle. Other photos can be found in  https://steemit.com/story/@onetree/my-town-part-1 and https://steemit.com/story/@onetree/my-town-part-2-online-auction-sales-mean-posting-the-new-shop-urban-degeneration

While I was in town, busy running around, I decided to see if the tattoo lady was available to tame my eyebrows. I don't wear much make-up, just a touch of eyeliner and mascara if I feel like it, but my eyebrows have a mind of their own and she can beat them into submission. She runs a tiny tattoo parlour on the main road, and I discovered her while researching a tattoo I wanted done. Unfortunately I don't have the funds for that yet, but I saw she did threading. Threading is slightly more painful than waxing, but it is quick and convenient. 

I parked around the corner on a quieter street, actually just further down the road from my new premises. I took a few photos, but after I was done with each photo, I hid my phone away inside my jacket. This area is really dangerous for snatch and grabs. Usually I walk to where I wish to go in town, from the shop, and only carry the cash I need for what I am going to do in my pocket.

         

            

         

This particular shop was once the home of a restaurant I waitressed at part-time and full-time for 3 years when I turned 18 years. I made a lot of money here and there are good as well as bad memories here.

         

           

             

            

At the tattoo parlour. I left with cool eyebrows! I can't wait for my tattoo one day.


Afterwards I drove through town on the way to the supermarket, to complete the grocery shopping for the weekend. This is the same centre I stopped at on my way to town to check the balance of an account at the ATM. (See Part 1)

           

                           

This is one of the more dangerous areas of town, but I remained vigilant.

         

         

This is one of my favourite grocery shops. This shopping centre is on the way to the suburbs, and not in the more dangerous town centre, where I spent my entire morning. Every time it is before the expiry date of fresh food products the price is reduced by half. I always check this section as I work from 8:00am-5:00pm at the shop, and then attend my daughter's yoga classes 4 times a week which means I only get home after 7:00pm. Ready made food is not ideal, but if it means I don't have to cook...!!! We had pizza yesterday. (R30 = $2,30)


After this, I headed home for an hour before I had to fetch my sons from their school. I popped in at the pharmacy quickly before I went to their school, which is located at yet another suburban shopping centre. All the riding around had given me a headache!

A situation occurred here which I will deal with in a separate blog, that made me forget to take a picture of my son's school, which is just around the corner from this centre.

 I made my way home, where I remained until 5:00pm, and then I had to drop my future son-in-law at work, all the way back in town, and slightly out of it in a light industrial area. 

On my way there and back I passed the local graveyard. I'll sleep when I'm dead! (I love this photo.)

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

Sort:  

All landscapes so beautiful! You give us an idea of the city as well, and it is so good to read! The sky is so blue and clean... awwww! <3

Thank you! I love the sky! I think the malls here look just the same as the malls all over the world, so I didn't bother sharing them.

Looks quite a bit like Michigan :)

That is so interesting, I would love to see some photos. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You must be shattered, hope your resting now :)

I spent my Saturday in my pjs 😆

Best way to spend your day, I am usually in them all day as its pointless getting dressed when I am stuck indoors :)

I agree! It will be back to the (new) shop all too soon.

The town is nice and clean. Looks like you guys got a functional municipality!

I don't know for how long. Definitely skirting bankruptcy.

It was nice to travel with you (your photos:))

My pleasure!

@onetree
I really appreciate the time and effort you took in providing such detail about where you come from. Keep up the good work, my friend! :)

very beautiful place and nicely captured, i am big fan of south african cricket team. specially AB De Villiers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45