Blockchain Memory Project; Journal Entry (2)- Momma's Lil Marines!

in #story6 years ago

image.png

Me over a decade ago


Finding most of my childhood pictures is hard, momma has them all, but she is no more. So I found one over 12 to 13 years ago!

LITTLE RASCAL AND A GENIUS

Growing up in West Africa Nigeria is tough, I mean growing up with two tough elder brothers was a bitch. Partly one of the reasons I became diehard, my brothers Bullied the hell out of me and in turn, I became a bully in School, I mean at the age of 6years; I was my class "champion" and often beat up older boys in senior classes.To make it all weirder, my Grandma's house was by the roadside and sometimes I and my brothers go to granny house till momma comes back from work at night.

A child genius and a rascal, at least my momma knew that, but I didn't; Not until I was matured enough to confront her in my mid-teens. So I was an unofficial enforcer, any classmate or senior I know I could handle but never got in chance in school pays the price at my Granny's house, "My Vantage point." Every kid who's parent has no car must pass through this route, even on weekends and holidays, they must pass this road; and my favourite place was the Balcony where I could see through the fancy block and my unsuspected school mate that must have entered my naughty book would never expect an attack from me!

GIF from GIPHY

Strangely I get away with most attacks on my classmates, teachers never believe I could be that nefarious, therefore all allegations get buried. My only Karma was my Brothers, whatever pleasure I get from beating up some kids; I get double those of the pains from punches to my ribs or face. A couple of time when momma gets back from her weekend studies, she always sees me with a swollen face or busted lips.

"MY 'OL MEAN UNCLE KENNY"

My mom had twins as immediate siblings, a boy, and a girl. The Boy, a man in his fifties; Uncle Kenny was our Nemesis when momma gets so mad he sends us to him to be dealt with in my Granny's house which is just a few minutes away from home. In Africa, beating by parents is considered discipline and not abuse. Boy; "Uncle Kenny whipped the hell out of the boys"

In his voice; "I will deal with you today, go on your knees!"

One thing that baffles me and my brothers were, how can this man keep whipping our asses on my Momma's command? I mean once he sees the three of us in a file, he knows momma sent us for punishment. But we still loved him, he is one of the people that got my momma's back; even though things turned sour between them after a while. I remember him filling in for my momma at Parent Teachers Meeting, getting mails from my school and delivering to her big sister; my late momma.

WAR MOVIE AFFECTIONADOS!

At some point, my momma banned us from watching war movies and any action film because we recreate each scene from the movie and this creeps momma out. Then seeing the "Old Hercules" movie, we acted this movie for more than a week till my immediate brother dislocated his left shoulder, this got momma so sad and angry; spending additionally in the hospital and then the embargo came on watching Action packed movies, War Flims and Wrestlemania!

ROBBERY

Momma had to go on a longer trip than few days to write exams, as usual, the boys would prefer to stay alone in the apartment than to stay with granny or anyone. Our apartment was a 3-bedroom apartment, a two apartment in on but the other vacant. On the 5th day alone with momma away, we had some August visitors at Mid-night. I use to be a deep sleeper, but my two brothers have a natural instinct of reacting to any external movement in and outside our homes at odd hours. This particular night was no different, I could hear from deep sleep my big brother at the top of his voice shouting and banging all the doors in the house calling fake names like "Mr.Paul, Captain, Uncle Kenny; wake up they are here". But by the time I woke up, I could hear and see shadows through the window jumping over the fence, about six of them in total.

The boys couldn't sleep anymore till daybreak, at dawn; I asked how my brother knew they were robbers, he told me he heard a loud thump like someone jumping the fence, then he peeped through the window and saw one huge fella with a Matchet. So he ran out switched on all the security light in the compound and started shouting banging the doors calling fake names, thank God those dudes didn't give it a second try; we would have been fried!

This nearly killed my Mom earlier when she got back and we told her, ever since she never agreed to her boys staying home alone whenever she is on a trip. Till date I and my brothers still laugh over this dangerous but hilarious incidents; we call ourselves "Felicia's Lil Troops- The Marines!"



Hey, how was your weekend?. Check out some of my latest amateur writing below. I appreciate all the support I have gotten from you all!

LOVE THAT KNOWS NO RACE NOR CULTURE- GOD'S LOVE(AN ORIGINAL VERSE COMPOSITION)

WAYS TO BUILD MUSCLES AND SUSTAIN THEM

THAT AWKWARD MOMENT #29 - "FLYING OUT!"

WHEN HUNTERS GETS HUNTED; MEMOIRS FROM THE DEEP BLUE SEA AND THE WILD

WHAT IS CRASHING THE PRICE OF ETHEREUM? I DID SOME DIGGING

Smart Job VS Regular Day/Shift Job



FOLLOW-UPVOTE-RESTEEM AND MAYBE DROP A SUPPORTING OR CONTRARY COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Badge courtesy of @jodi.pamungka Animated Footer by @rituparnaghos.

Sort:  

LOL ... That part about your uncle Kenny was hilarious.

I can tell that life growing up where you did must've been hard. I know of others with similar upbringings who are better off because of it.

Our struggles in life is like a hot furnace that purifies the soul.

And he shall sit as a refiner and purifier of silver: and he shall purify the sons of Levi, and purge them as gold and silver, that they may offer unto the LORD an offering in righteousness.

Malachi 3:3

Am honored for reading all through @fulltimegeek sadly Uncle Kenny's kids lack disciplined despite his iron hands with us...I am making Malachi 3:3 my memory verse for this week.

Haha. Quite hilarious. Your uncle kenny is my own elder brother John. His knock on our head can so reset all manner of misbehaviours oh.

Hhahaha, tell his name doesn't start with "K"

Wow..awesome post in git glued from the beginning to the ending end lol.. You sure painted a perfect picture I could see it. Lovely right up.
Awesome post

You had a quite a vivid childhood, that something awesome to remember. Quite better than having nothing to remember at all. Hilarious moments too, lol.

Many thanks mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55