MY FAMILY HISTORY, part 2

in #story7 years ago (edited)

MY FAMILY HISTORY, part 2

This is a part 2 in the two-parts ‘My Family History’ mini-series on Steem. You can find part 1 here.

CHANGE OF PLANS

Rostov Oblast in Southern Russia
Image source: Wikipedia
By the time my great-grandfather’s family made it to Stalingrad, Ukraine had already been occupied by German troops. They could no longer continue their journey towards the original destination. To turn around and head back to Siberia was unthinkable to them. The food and the money they had saved for the journey were running out, as the family was running out of options. Fortunately, the other family they were travelling with offered them to accompany them to Morozovsk in Rostov Oblast in Southern Russia. My great-grandparents accepted the offer and that is how they ended up in Morozovsk – a small place that just had grown from a settlement into a town that same year, a place where my father would meet my mother for the first time a couple of decades later.

FORETELLING COMES TRUE

The first night in Morozovsk my family slept on the ground, on one of the vacant lots in town. In the morning Ivan went to look for a job, Maria went to the local market to buy food, and the children joined some local kids who were heading to the river to play. As I mentioned, none of the kids were accustomed to large bodies of water and none of them could swim. Anna was the first who got caught by the river’s strong flow and began drowning. Leonid jumped into the water to help her. Anna clung onto him and inadvertently drew him down with her. My grandfather Nikolai shouted to his other siblings to stay onshore and not go any closer to the river. He ran to Anna and Leonid’s rescue and, just like them, began to drown himself. He managed to orient himself under the water and, with whatever little oxygen was remaining in his lungs, began to crawl on the river’s bottom back towards the shore. When he emerged from the water gasping for air, his younger brother and sister had already been gone.


My grandfather Nikolai (left) and four of his siblings (ca. 1960).
The children went back to their parents and had to break the news about the death of their two siblings. Maria wept and swore to stay in Morozovsk, where two of her children were going to be buried on the local cemetery. Besides, she realised she was pregnant again and didn’t want to keep wandering in search of a new home.

Nina, in the centre of the photo to the right, would drown 31 years later, in 1972. And thus the grim foretelling of the Kazakh hermit regarding three of Maria’s children being taken by water would come true.

WAR YEARS

My great-grandfather
Ivan during World War 2
Soon afterwards Ivan got a job at the local railway depot and was temporarily excepted from the ongoing war-time mobilisation. Maria gave birth to her youngest daughter, Valentina (the rightmost woman in the top row on the photo above), in October of 1941. Nikolai found a job working in the fields of the nearby village. There he met my paternal grandmother, Akulina “Lina” Radchenko, who was 17 years old at that time.

My grandfather
Nikolai during World War 2
In January of 1942 my grandfather turned 18 and got conscripted into the Red Army. His father Ivan followed him and went to war. In July of 1942 Morozovsk got occupied by the German troops. The rest of the family lived in the occupied town, trying to avoid new dangers posed by the invading force, until January 1943, when the Germans retreated.

Omsk Oblast
Image source: Wikipedia
For a while there were no letters and no news from the front lines, neither from Ivan nor from Nikolai. Only later would the family learn that Ivan had been severely wounded almost as soon as he joined the fighting. Since Morozovsk was occupied at that time, he was sent to stay with his grandmother who was still living in Ol'gino in Omsk Oblast in West Siberia. There he learnt that his only brother, Fyodor Izyumenko, had died at war. Ivan managed to return to his family in Morozovsk in the spring of 1943, once the town was liberated.

Nikolai was fighting in Eastern Europe until the autumn of 1944, when he got under heavy shellfire and suffered a severe concussion. He spent most of the rest of the war in hospital. Once the war ended, Nikolai remained on active duty in the ranks of the Red Army until 1949.

POST-WAR YEARS. NEW GENERATION

My grandparents
Nikolai and Lina
(1949)
Once my grandfather got demobilised from the military, he got to search for Lina and her family. He found them in the Kharkiv province of Ukraine, where my grandmother’s family moved by that time. For seven years Lina had kept waiting for Nikolai, trusting that he would come back from war and find her. My grandparents got married in 1949 and stayed in Ukraine until 1953. My father Leonid – named after his dad’s untimely departed younger brother – was born in January of 1953. In March of the same year Nikolai, Lina, and their baby-son moved back to Morozovsk, where the rest of the Izyumenko family were living. In February of 1956 Lina gave birth to a daughter who was named Tatiana.


My grandparents with my father Leonid (center) 1958

WHAT HAPPENED SINCE THEN

My great-grandmother Maria died in 1978, a year before I was born, so I never got to meet her.

My grandfather Nikolai passed away in 1989. And, just like his wife Lina was waiting for his return from the war for seven years back in the 1940’s, it wasn’t until seven years later that the couple got reunited on the other side after my grandmother’s passing in 1996.


My grandmother Lina at her husband’s grave (ca. 1990)

My great-grandfather Ivan died on the 31st of December 1989 – on the day when he was informed of his son Nikolai’s death. The family kept the news from him for as long as they could, fearing his reaction.

My aunt Tatiana and I (ca. 1990)
My great-uncle Ivan, Nikolai’s younger brother, passed away in 2014. He and his family had lived in the same city where I grew up. My parents had kept a close contact with him in all those years and maintain a close relationship with his two daughters (my father’s cousins).

My father’s sister Tatiana (who was also my godmother) passed away on February 7th this year, after a long and exhausting battle with cancer.

My two great-aunts Lidia and Valentina live in two different cities of Rostov Oblast, my home region. My parents live in a small house with a beautiful garden in Tsimlyansk, where I was born 39 years ago, close to the city where I grew up and lived until I moved to Moscow back in 2001.

Sort:  

Oleg,

May Tatiana's memory be eternal!

Memoryeternal.gif

Thank you, Wesley. I appreciate it, truly.

Hi Oleg. You are so well informed about your family and how well you tell their (and your) story. Sorry to hearabout your recent loss.
Upped !

Thank you for your kind words, @dutchess! The chronicle above was compiled by my father. I just formatted it for the web and translated to English (with his permission, of course).

Yes, the loss of my aunt was a harsh blow for the entire family and was especially hard on my father. I think that working on this chronicle was his way of dealing with the passing of his beloved sister.

Through writing one can process many emotions. It works for your father and i guess for you too 😘

sad story. but you have something that many do not, is the story of your family. I do not know as much about my relatives as you are. thanks for sharing their family history

It's unbelievable how many relocations and tragic events our ancestors have been suffering from in 20th century.

Many of my students from Syria could tell similar stories of war, loss, forced relocations, and families scattered all over Europe. It’s crazy that these things are happening today. Humanity learns nothing from its past.

Family history is such an important thing to hold on to, and definitely needs to be cherished! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for having read and commented!

Wow, Oleg. Thanks for writing this in English too. This gave me goosebumps. The 3 drownings being foretold by a hermit! Devastating. You do your family a great honour, sharing the stories of their lives. It was captivating! Inspiring. Absolutely brilliant! It makes me want to share some of my family history too.

Anj :)

My mom said the same thing this morning, about the hermit’s prediction, when we talked on Skype. It still gives us chills to think how it was even possible for him to foretell the future.

I think you should, Anj! I would love to read your family history here on Steemit!

Yes, it's very eerie :S

Thanks. I think I'll go digging through some old photos for inspiration :D

It is an interesting work to leave such family records on blockchain.

I think that it may become a thing that expands the possibilities of blockchain.

What a story, @oleg326756. Thank you for sharing your family photos and history. So much loss they suffered. You have a beautiful family. Blessings.

Thank you, dear!

I really enjoyed your history! Welcome!

What a struggle. This is great you at least know and can save such information for further generations.

That is a lot more then i know about my family history. They are not really into talk much about it. I think it comes more down to their own family growing up never talk much about it so they just have very little to say. I have even lesser to say.

Oleg, I really enjoyed reading both parts of your family history. You are lucky to know so much about them. I do not know my family history further back than those currently alive. We also have not traveled far from the same state either, so no tales of war and forced relocation.

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading, Justin!

Most of the narrative I published here comes from the stories told by my grandfather, when he was alive, and my great-uncle and great-aunts. My dad put it all together in written form as a cohesive story. I threw in a couple historical references, took out some minor details to make the text shorter, and translated it to Englihs. So I cannot take much credit for this. :)

The best way to learn one’s family history is to “interrogate” (in a loving and respectful way ;)) one’s elder family members (grandparents and great-grandparents, great-uncles and -aunts) about their ancestors and their family stories when they were growing up. Then a holistic picture will slowly emerge from all those small pieces of the grand puzzle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49