Another Best Man Duty!

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Last year July, i told everyone who cared to listen that i have officially retired from 'Best Man duties' as then, it looked as if everyone was targeting me to be their best man on their wedding occasion. It was a responsibility i graciously accepted everytime they approached me and i have done too many than i can count, starting way back in 2002, so, you can imagine.

I was so young then when i first did it, and it was for my cousin. I stumbled upon the picture last year or so, and i can't believe i wore that kind of suit then hahahaha, well, that was the 'in-thing' then.

I told everyone i retired last year and it was a little bit exciting, because now i can attend a wedding as a guest and enjoy the food with drinks and gist with fellow seat mates rather than the usual running up and down i have been used to over the years. I chose to retire because:

  1. I have been tagged 'Official Best Man' because people don't look too far before they just pick me. Some won't even tell me, they will just notify me when the price for the suit is to be paid and the measurement taken and i will be like, 'We never discussed this!', and they will be like, 'Are you not supposed to know?!' E gba mi o (translation: Save/Help me). So you can all imagine all i have gone through over the years from Cousins and Friends and even my brother hahahahahahaha. Some even suggested i start charging for it. Lobatan! (translation: case closed). Trust me, they were moments i cherished so much and never regretted because it takes a certain level of trust and love for them not to look too far and ask me to be beside them, that's why they call it 'Best Man'; best of all the friends. Hahahaha. Don't frown please. Maybe because they all know what friendship means to me.

  2. I feel ready for the next phase too, so i can plan ahead and also remove that 'Official Best Man' tag. I couldn't help but feel maybe people keep picking me as punishment. Hahahaha. (Kidding.)
    You know being used to witnessing weddings and seeing the excitement that comes with it, you can't help but imagine how your own big day would turn out and you pick lessons here and there from how each person did his own and you want to apply it to yours. So yes, i feel ready and raring to go!. You want to move from a level of just seeing and witnessing, to being at the receiving end of it too, even though i know a lot has to be done to make it happen but then, it is a challenge i would gladly accept and not scare from 'God will always send the rain, you just go ahead and prepare your field'. - Anonymous. Keyword: Prepare. Do all you can, let God do all you can't.

So last two weeks, i got another 'Best Man' duty dumped on me and after i told him jokingly 'I have retired' he still insisted. He had to adjust his wardrobe to one of the many suits i have (as a result of the best man's duties of time past that i have done) see my life and i couldn't just say no anymore, and here we are again today, came out of 'retirement' like Paul Scholes (A football player who played for Manchester United Football Club in England) and it was amazing, just like he was nominated as one of the contenders for the player of the season even though he only played from January to May back then. So now, today, i have been nominated as the next groom. Hahahaha. Challenge accepted in Barney Steinsson's Voice (from How I Met Your Mother; a popular American sitcom).

The bottom line is, friendship is important. We don't mind bending our will just to put a smile on their faces, we don't mind watering it with few tears too. Friendship just like love, requires some degrees of sacrifice. It doesn't have to be easy, if it was easy, everyone would do it. You know how you value someone by the level of importance you place on that fellow. Friendship, just like love, is very important, cherish them. I don't take my friends for granted. I do all i can to reach out, not because it is easy for me to do, (even though that is me), but because of the value i placed on that friendship. I love closeness. Yes, not everyone can be like that, and i am not asking you to be, all i am saying is, make an effort. Don't always be at the receiving end of things, you too, reach out. 'True friendship has no class barrier.'

So, just to let you all know, i am retiring officially from 'Best Man Duties', before you will vote me as the chairman for the tag. To further enhance and enable me to faster leave that tag behind (because i don't know if i would be able to turn a friend down or my brother too), kindly follow, resteem and ofcourse upvote, then tag all the whales and dolphins you know 😂😂😂😂, 2018 must be it and let the impact through our words and works continue.

This post is to give an insight into a little part of me and also get people to smile and laugh, which is totally different from the posts i usually make. A little laughter doesn't hurt does it? Thank you all as always, and as for the #whales and #dolphins, that wasn't a joke, tag them please. Their encouragement would go a long way. Money is needed to enhance and help people even the more. How do you tell someone going through a rough patch to believe and hold on if you don't make his or her burden lighter and give a little bit of hope, even a little ray? We all need a little encouragement because we can't afford to give up as you don't know who is watching you. You might be the reason someone hasn't really given up on life. There are some people words can build up, there are some, only physical actions can build up before your words would sink in.

That was lengthy, i know. Thank you all for always reading and reading to the end. Much appreciated.

Olawalium!

Some pictures today for your view.

IMG-20171228-WA0064.jpg

IMG-20171228-WA0011.jpg

20171228_110827.jpg

20171228_110114.jpg

20171228_110819.jpg

Sort:  

I will tell my tailor to start sowing my agbada. I cant wait oooo

Hahahaha. Perfect. Don't let your agbada be like that of Ebuka.

Thanks a lot @rossey. I really appreciate your time.

Hahahahahahahah, pls don't retire yet seems seems will be my best man too. Lol. Nice post dear keep the s spirit on. Cheers

Hahahaha from 2018 i will be charging people fees. Hahaha. Thanks a lot. Duly appreciated.

@abuja-steem just upvoted and resteemed this post. Help us to do more by upvoting this comment

You look good as a best man tho

Yaaaay! Thanks a lot @vheobong. Really appreciate this and your time.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Olawalium from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Official bestman...you try ooo lol
Good to know you value ur friends
Nice one

Hahahahaha @Ponmile o. Thanks a lot dear.

Prepare again to be my own best man, you only retire when ypu marry yours, and oh ....yes!!! Its your punishment lols

Hahahahaha wicked man. I am retired and won't be available for your best man offer because i am graduating to the next level in early 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74