Lucy - Part 2

in #story8 years ago (edited)

If you didn't read Part 1, click here.


My friend and I were slowly sobering up to the fact that we may be less competent in the next hours, so we walked to his room and rolled a few joints and a blunt and set back out the park.

Passing out the relatively dark building into the light was much more fascinating than usual this time around. I could feel my pupils beings filled with light, making everything around me almost sublime and unusually accentuated. Somehow, it was as if I could feel an instant increase of serotonin in my body.

Flash forward ten minutes and my friend and I are sitting on a bench close to the park. THIS, is where I start feeling it. Most places I look, everything seems calm and normal. However, in an arbitrary way, my mind would pick out objects or patterns and simply distort them in fascinating ways. Sometimes the strong whites of the snow would contrast so strongly against the grass behind it that it assumed a neon radiant hue.

Most distortions would be ever so slight. Ever so realistic. Ever so integrated into the rest of the vision which you would still perceive as true.

But how could you perceive anything as true? By this time I’m standing on the back side of the squash wall, for the first time in my life looking beyond the label that your mind creates for everything around you. The back side of the wall became a delicately thought out story of Graffiti. One story leading into the other, contrasting, and adding to each-other in a harmony so clear that I couldn’t believe that I hadn’t seen it the other hundred times I had smoked at that exact same spot.

As I explore some of the colorful patterns on the wall, the patterns seem to be moving. Again, ever so slightly, but ever so clearly, the patterns on the wall would move similarly to the way optical illusions fooled you into believing their movement.

At that point of the trip my friend and I managed to get Doe to come meet us. He wasn’t tripping, so it gave us an interesting contrast of thought.

As I first started visualizing I had a very similar feeling to the sentiment I felt while tripping on mushrooms. Somehow that purpose you have at every sober moment just disappears, and you find yourself in a world accompanied by time instead of being ruled by it. My first reaction was confusion and a mild feeling of helplessness. My hope had been that Doe, in his sober state, would endow us with a purpose so that I could feel more confident of myself. To me, in retrospect, it seems that this is where most psychedelic accidents happen. At this point in a trip, the lack of ability to understand that fundamental changes are happening in your mind, and that they will make you feel different about the most basic things, could potentially cause problems. In my case, I just formalized in words what that emotion was and dealt with it logically.

Of course, the large amounts of pot we had with us helped enormously too. So Doe left after being weirded out by the things that my friend and I were saying. It’s hard not to think of fundamental things while tripping I realized, so it was understandable that Doe was overwhelmed by the tangents of our conversation. So the two of us found a bench in the same clearing which was overlooking the construction of a rather large building. We could see the construction workers following the course of their day to day lives.

It was too clear to me that a large part of life consists of the goals we are given to live with. Some people have goals to complete which are very instantaneous, like laying one brick over the other. Some people have very large, long-term goals. But either way, it seems that humans cope with their day to day lives with the goals that hang over them like the luggage of an unseasoned air traveller.

The rest of the day continued in a very similar way. Alternating by time spent at the park with joints in our mouth, and time spent in my friend’s room looking at modern art or rolling more joints. All in all, a trip is a trip. It’s several hours we dedicate to the introspection of our mind, and most of the time what we gain is entertainment. However, it is what we make of the entertainment which presents the true value of the trip, as it is a special experience which can tell you about the aspects of life which are often unsuccessfully communicated through words.

Credit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49